Community discussions

 
User avatar
marsark
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Inline comments in WinBox

Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:29 pm

For a sake, is there any option how to enable inline comments in WinBox everywhere and forever? I have to switch forms to inline comment after each login. Running Winbox in Wine.
 
myke1124
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 2:15 am

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Fri May 23, 2014 8:38 pm

Yes Please. Give us the ability to set inline comments as a default option.
 
DLNoah
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:33 pm

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Fri May 23, 2014 10:07 pm

For a sake, is there any option how to enable inline comments in WinBox everywhere and forever? I have to switch forms to inline comment after each login. Running Winbox in Wine.
Are you using the Winbox option "Load Previous Session"? Because on our network, there are some people who do use Inline Comment and some who do not. We pretty much all use "Load Previous Session", and "Inline Comments" has become a whole toilet-seat-up-versus-down debate because Winbox saves the previous user's option of (not) using Inline Comments.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8317
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:48 pm

We pretty much all use "Load Previous Session", and "Inline Comments" has become a whole toilet-seat-up-versus-down debate because Winbox saves the previous user's option of (not) using Inline Comments.
use different usernames for different people =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
DLNoah
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:33 pm

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:52 pm

We pretty much all use "Load Previous Session", and "Inline Comments" has become a whole toilet-seat-up-versus-down debate because Winbox saves the previous user's option of (not) using Inline Comments.
use different usernames for different people =)
Actually, we do, and "Load Previous Session" still cross-remembers a fair number of settings, including Inline Comments.

Whether that happens because (nearly) all of our usernames are RADIUS/AAA, or whether that would still happen if we had local users everywhere (ha ha ha ha ha), I cannot say.
 
User avatar
marsark
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Sat Dec 27, 2014 1:52 am

I'm refreshing this thread because Load previous session and persistence of users setting doesn't work for me. I usually log to RB devices from my desktop or laptop with Linux OS and WinBox (3.0beta2) running in Wine. I have to enable inline comment and configure requested columns in interfaces screen etc. on every login to the device because setting from my previous setting is lost.

* I'm only user
* leaving WinBox with Exit button
* Load Previous Session is checked

Could some one enlighten me what I do wrong ? It's very irritating configure WinBox session many times a day :( .

Thanks ,
 
Neilson
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Sat Dec 27, 2014 6:43 am

Is there a reason you haven't started using Winbox 3 Beta 3?

Its been out replacing Beta 2 for months and I understand that one of the big reasons was to solve the not loading session (or at least some of them) bugs.

Try under Beta 3 and let us know.

Regards
Alexander
 
User avatar
marsark
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:46 am

Sorry. I missed existence of 3.0beta3 - but no luck with it. Still have to enable inline comments a columns every time.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Mon Dec 29, 2014 7:56 am

I will see what we can do. New Winbox 3 is different, maybe we can finally fix this
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Mon Dec 29, 2014 5:50 pm

The issue is "inline commands" have to be set on each individual list. And it resets after some ROS updates.
Is it really that hard to have an global option, like the "Hide passwords" check box?
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
User avatar
marsark
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:07 pm

I would appreciate any fix of "inline comments". It is very annoying to me when connecting to dozen of boxes couple time a day. :D
 
matthysdt
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Fri Jun 12, 2015 9:52 am

I would appreciate any fix of "inline comments". It is very annoying to me when connecting to dozen of boxes couple time a day. :D
I would like to add my weight to marsark's request.

Please give us an option to have inline comments as a default view.

On our one router, we have +/-80 pptp clients, each with a comment. It clutters up the view something bad. Having to enable inline comments each and every time is frustrating.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Inline comments in WinBox

Fri Jun 12, 2015 9:55 am

it has already been possible for a long time.

simply use Winbox 3 not older versions. Make sure you upgrade to newer version.
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 89 guests