Community discussions

MikroTik App

wifiryan
just joined
Topic Author

True WAN bonding through my data center location?

Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:47 pm

Hello, I have been using MikroTik for around 2 years, and am familiar with a lot of the features.

I have been load balancing 5 x 6mbps DSL lines at my office and it works OK, however I now have access to a 1000 mbps internet connection at a datacenter 100 miles away, and I would like to utilize the data center Internet connection as my offices "WAN".

Location A (Office) 5 DSL Lines

Location B (Data center) 1000 mbps fiber connection

Is it possible to setup a site-to-site VPN bonding application, with Mikrotiks at each end, and then utilize Location B's WAN for Location A? I.E. be able to download at the maximum capacity of all DSL lines, in this case 30 mbps?

I have found some appliances that claim to do this but they are all over $8,000 each and require two. Can Mikrotik do this?

leonset
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Re: True WAN bonding through my data center location?

Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:08 pm

Hi,

You won't get more bandwidth using Location B's WAN, because you will be limited by your current DSL's bandwidth. The only reason I can think of doing this is if you need some latency sensitive traffic and "DSL to Location B latency" + "Location B to destination server latency" is lower (or better quality, ie less jittering) than "DSL to destination server latency".

On the other hand, you may try bonding EoIP tunnels and setup IPSec over them. Take care of checking each DSL status manually (scripts) to take them out of the bonding or you'll get packet loss if any goes down and it's EoIP tunnel remains active at the bonding.

bye

tricer

Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:14 pm

i am pretty sure if you set up 2 eoip tunnels and bond them together both on the remote side and the datacenter side you will see more bandwidth

i am setting up a test lab now to do this

bigguns
Member Candidate
Member Candidate