Page 1 of 1

PCC and MT 5.7

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:33 am
by salytwo
I have the following code to load balance 2 adsl lines ran on mikrotik 3.3 but it is not working on MT 5.7?
the Code:

/ip address
add address=192.168.1.21/24 broadcast=192.168.1.255 comment="" disabled=no interface=wlan1 network=192.168.1.0
add address=192.168.2.21/24 broadcast=192.168.2.255 comment="" disabled=no interface=wlan2 network=192.168.2.0
add address=10.10.10.2/24 broadcast=10.10.10.255 comment="" disabled=no interface=lan network=10.10.10.0
/ip firewall mangle
add action=mark-connection chain=input comment="" disabled=no in-interface=wlan1 new-connection-mark=wlan1_conn passthrough=yes
add action=mark-connection chain=input comment="" disabled=no in-interface=wlan2 new-connection-mark=wlan2_conn passthrough=yes
add action=mark-routing chain=output comment="" connection-mark=wlan1_conn disabled=no new-routing-mark=wlan1 passthrough=yes
add action=mark-routing chain=output comment="" connection-mark=wlan2_conn disabled=no new-routing-mark=wlan2 passthrough=yes
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting comment="" disabled=no dst-address-type=!local in-interface=lan new-connection-mark=wlan1_conn passthrough=yes per-connection-classifier=both-addresses-and-ports:2/0
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting comment="" disabled=no dst-address-type=!local in-interface=lan new-connection-mark=wlan2_conn passthrough=yes per-connection-classifier=both-addresses-and-ports:2/1
add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting comment="" connection-mark=wlan1_conn disabled=no in-interface=lan new-routing-mark=wlan1 passthrough=yes
add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting comment="" connection-mark=wlan2_conn disabled=no in-interface=lan new-routing-mark=wlan2 passthrough=yes
/ip route
add check-gateway=ping disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.1.1 routing-mark=wlan1 scope=30 target-scope=10
add check-gateway=ping disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.2.1 routing-mark=wlan2 scope=30 target-scope=10
add check-gateway=ping disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.1.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
add check-gateway=ping disabled=no distance=2 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.2.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="" disabled=no out-interface=wlan1
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="" disabled=no out-interface=wlan2
/ip dns set allow-remote-requests=no cache-max-ttl=1w cache-size=2048KiB max-udp-packet-size=512 primary-dns=208.67.222.222 secondary-dns=208.67.220.220



Can I say this code need an alteration to work on 5.7 or I have to try more and more ?
Second:
which is better PCC or NTH?
I know PCC has fail over but NTH has not any pros or cons?
Can I run MT3.3 NTH code on MT 5.7 ?
thanks all

Re: PCC and MT 5.7

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 8:20 am
by macgaiver
With masquerade any NTH configuration will have a chance to disconnect your client connections any 10min because of linux route cache flush

Re: PCC and MT 5.7

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 8:27 am
by salytwo
what you think about PCC code is it applicable on MT5.7 or need a change?

Re: PCC and MT 5.7

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:34 pm
by macgaiver
Just follow the explanations on the wiki page and apply configuration to your situation - all should be fine.

Re: PCC and MT 5.7

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:53 pm
by janisk
PCC uses different approach, so even after cache flush link will go through same interface as before the flush

Re: PCC and MT 5.7

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:53 am
by salytwo
I used this code in MT 3.3 but its not fail-over as mentioned.
I do not know how can I troubleshoot this code
can you help plz?