Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
smutsnic
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 8:49 pm

cap pppoe user

Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:16 am

Is it possible to cap a pppoe user account's data download/upload using limit-bytes-in & limit-bytes-out?

The ideal scenario would be for the user to transfer say 2GB of data and then have his pppoe account disabled.
 
User avatar
maroon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:15 am
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Fri Dec 02, 2005 1:15 pm

you can do this .. with Mikrotik 2.8 n above!!
 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:06 pm

How would you go about doing this?
 
User avatar
maroon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:15 am
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:32 pm

you can do this while creating a username & password under ppp - secret .

Limit bytes In / bytes Out

Regards,
 
smutsnic
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 8:49 pm

Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:00 pm

I've done this before, but the problem is that once the limit is reached the connection disconnects and a reconnect will allow the account to start downloading the same amount as before.

I would like the account to disconnect (which it does) and then have the account disabled or something else useful like a new ip address assigned which you could then route into a black hole with zero bandwidth.
 
User avatar
maroon
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:15 am
Location: Lebanon
Contact:

Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:21 pm

you need to install a billing system to manage such things ...


did you try it with the newest version of MT OS ?

Regards,
 
smutsnic
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 8:49 pm

Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:25 pm

I tried it with 2.8 but I assume the functionality is exactly the same.

A billing system that integrates into mikrotik any ideas?
 
gianluca
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Italy - Spain - USA

Sat Dec 03, 2005 6:23 pm

you should use radius and manage it through a database. try php/MySQL

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Abdock, Bing [Bot], congofather, eworm, MSN [Bot], Solaris and 157 guests