Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
asking
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:13 am

backup or export ?

Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:50 am

hello , i want to copy my exact configuration to another machine which is different hardware . Is copying Backup file and then restore it on other machine okay ? . Or should i export it ? the problem for exporting configuration is the need to export it one by one, can it just export all configuration on mikrotik instead one by one ?

thanks please reply
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1842
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: backup or export ?

Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:15 pm

The backup will not work. You should really only use backup for the same piece of physical hardware. Use export and if you have upgrade to 5.12, use compact export. Yes, you can export the whole config.
/export file=Export-Config
and for the new compact
/export compact file=Export-Config
This will put the configurations in your file list. Then you can download them and import them on a new router. If using the export without compact you will need to go through and remove the mac addresses from all the interfaces and any other information specific to that router before you import the config.
C.Brown

cbrown[at]cbrown.co
Telegram: @chris4brown
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
User avatar
space007
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:30 pm

Re: backup or export ?

Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:27 pm

why is not exporting interfaces wireless ???
 
Fumi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 10:12 am

Re: backup or export ?

Thu Jun 21, 2012 1:18 pm

You can use cloneTik of www.turbotik.com that allows you to copy all configurations or parts of configuration between different hardware.

Best regards
 
slech
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau

Re: backup or export ?

Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:46 am

 
jeffee1
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:12 pm

Re: backup or export ?

Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:14 pm

I bought clonetik and the license he sent me doesn't even work with the version available for download and no reply from him. Also no contact info on his website and the forum link is broken. I guess I just wasted $5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 87 guests