Page 1 of 1

backup or export ?

Posted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:50 am
by asking
hello , i want to copy my exact configuration to another machine which is different hardware . Is copying Backup file and then restore it on other machine okay ? . Or should i export it ? the problem for exporting configuration is the need to export it one by one, can it just export all configuration on mikrotik instead one by one ?

thanks please reply

Re: backup or export ?

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:15 pm
by cbrown
The backup will not work. You should really only use backup for the same piece of physical hardware. Use export and if you have upgrade to 5.12, use compact export. Yes, you can export the whole config.
/export file=Export-Config
and for the new compact
/export compact file=Export-Config
This will put the configurations in your file list. Then you can download them and import them on a new router. If using the export without compact you will need to go through and remove the mac addresses from all the interfaces and any other information specific to that router before you import the config.

Re: backup or export ?

Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:27 pm
by space007
why is not exporting interfaces wireless ???

Re: backup or export ?

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 1:18 pm
by Fumi
You can use cloneTik of www.turbotik.com that allows you to copy all configurations or parts of configuration between different hardware.

Best regards

Re: backup or export ?

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:46 am
by slech

Re: backup or export ?

Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:14 pm
by jeffee1
I bought clonetik and the license he sent me doesn't even work with the version available for download and no reply from him. Also no contact info on his website and the forum link is broken. I guess I just wasted $5