Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
hmekolli
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:58 pm
Contact:

Unlimit from cashe

Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:35 am

I want to limit clients 65k download from Public int, but to have unlimited from cashe(i turned on webproxy in port 8080). I have 1 ethernet-local and two wlan(atheros, prism2) bridget. What is best way to do this?

name="queue12" target-addresses=192.168.81.7/32 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0
interface=all parent=none direction=both priority=8
queue=PCQ-Download/PCQ-Download limit-at=65000/65000
max-limit=65000/65000 total-queue=PCQ-Download
This is one simple queue for one client(PCQ-Download is 65536 bits)
Thanks!
 
bokad
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:34 pm

Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:15 pm

I don't know if RouterOS has anyway of telling you if there something is a cache hit or not. There is a a plugin for SQUID proxy though that will allow you to change the TOS on packets that are coming from the cache. You can then set different mangle and queue rules on the MT based on the TOS. It's what my provider uses. Sorry I don't remember the name of the specific plugin to SQUID
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Sun Dec 11, 2005 6:01 am

Hi, here is and example of what you what to do: http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.8/ro ... t#6.54.7.4
 
goldclick
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:48 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Sun Dec 11, 2005 4:20 pm

I don't know if RouterOS has anyway of telling you if there something is a cache hit or not. There is a a plugin for SQUID proxy though that will allow you to change the TOS on packets that are coming from the cache. You can then set different mangle and queue rules on the MT based on the TOS. It's what my provider uses. Sorry I don't remember the name of the specific plugin to SQUID
Very Excellenet hack the enables you change the TOS byte of Cached contents. its Located here - http://www.it-academy.bg/zph/ I use it too but it requires that you have another server doing transparent caching and you bandwidth manager preferably working in bridge mode.

Note that the patch differentiates contents that are cached by changing the TOS to any of your choice. The Idea is to have the bandwidth manager penalise a client when an object is being fetched from the Internet, whether proxied or not and then allow the user full bandwidth when client uses the proxy server and the request object is in the proxy servers cache.

If am correct the example in http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.8/ro ... t#6.54.7.4, allows the client full bandwidth at all times so long as proxy data is used, whether cached or not. This is different from the ZPH scenario where TOS is used to differentiate a stored content VS a direct, even though proxied. I prefer the ZPH method as it provides more flexibility.

I wish MT could make us two versions of web-proxy package, one standard and the other with the ZPH patch that will allows us set any TOS of choice in winbox for cached content and then later use mangle to do whatever we want with it.
Sunday Idajili
ITClick Networx Limited
 
hmekolli
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:58 pm
Contact:

Sun Dec 11, 2005 8:02 pm

I have 2.9.8 v. of Mikrotik

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abjaterza, Google [Bot], Renfrew and 109 guests