Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
cbonet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 3:41 pm

Hotspot and Wireless range extender

Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:01 pm

Guys i need a hand....
i have a Hotspot but i put an extender to a building how can I configure the DHCP Server to send the ip adrress to the users that connect into that extender


Please any help will be appreciated

Thanks

Chris
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1686
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Hotspot and Wireless range extender

Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:54 pm

Easy.

In the extender:
Create a bridge and add ether1 and wlans to the bridge.
Add IP to the bridge (THE SAME IP RANGE OF THE HOTSPOT).
link the main AP and the repeater with WDS.

Add the IP+address to ip bindings of the hotspot as bipassed.
Martín Ruiz
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in:
MTCNA - MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE - MTCSE
 
stleoric
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:47 pm

Re: Hotspot and Wireless range extender

Thu Jul 25, 2013 8:14 pm

I'm having some problems with this as well.

RouterOS v6.1
RB751G-2HnD

The WiFi extender is FRITZ!WLAN Repeater 310
http://www.fritzbox.eu/en/products/FRIT ... /index.php
I don't think it has any options to create bridges or any such "advanced" options.
You only select the SSID you want to extend and set the security (enter the network key if WLAN is secured).

Here's the problem:
When connecting to the extender's WiFi, I get the hotspot's login page, but the next web page I try to open redirects me back to the hotspot's login page.
The problem seems to be that the WiFi extender is marked as an active client only for a second or two (sometimes a few more), but then gets removed from the active clients list.
I use the trial login option for the hotspot and the trial-uptime is set to 1h/1s.


I've tried making the extender's IP lease static
/ip dhcp-server lease
add address=10.1.1.2 always-broadcast=yes client-id=1:9c:c7:a6:7e:68:49 mac-address=9C:C7:A6:7E:68:49 server=dhcp1
and adding it to IP Bindings in hotspot's settings
/ip hotspot ip-binding
add address=10.1.1.2 comment="Fritz repeater 1" mac-address=9C:C7:A6:7E:68:49 server=hotspot1 to-address=10.1.1.2
but there is no difference if this is set or not.

Also, when a client (for example a smartphone) connects to the WLAN via the extender, there is only the extender's MAC address seen in the MAC table, not the client's.
Any ideas or tips would be welcome.
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1686
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Hotspot and Wireless range extender

Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:32 am

If I don't remember bad....
I use the trial login option for the hotspot and the trial-uptime is set to 1h/1s.
This gives you 1h of access each second. Then, each second starts another trial.. Then its not working.

Trial is something like:
1h/24h (I give you 1h of Internet each day).


Look in ip/hotspot/hosts for the ip/mac of the fritz, click right button and make binding as bypassed.
Martín Ruiz
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in:
MTCNA - MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE - MTCSE
 
stleoric
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:47 pm

Re: Hotspot and Wireless range extender

Fri Jul 26, 2013 3:58 pm

Actually, I only want to have users redirected to the "login" page after 1h. I thought the second number (i.e. 1s) was the interval after which the user is allowed to login again.
This setting works perfectly when the clients connect directly to the AP.
I also made the IP binding for the extender.

In any case, I think I managed to solve the problem.
I had 1 IP per MAC setting. After raising this number, it appears that it works as I want to (some more testing required), since the clients connecting via the extender are seen in hosts/active list with the extender's MAC (but each gets a unique IP now).

Thank you for clarification on the intervals.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], thanosan and 38 guests