Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
iDen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

Why Bridge chooses Wifi int mac address?

Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:29 pm

why bridge selects for itself mac from wifi interface?
simple bridge:
wifi interface is always Port number 1
ethernet interface is port number 2

bridge with vlans on ether and wifi
wifi vlan port is number 1
ether vlan port is number 2

and only when WDS mode. vlan under wds, wds under wlan
and only in this case
wds.vlan port is number 2
and ether.vlan is number 1

Because of that: when i'm restarting station, i'm loosing ip connectivity with AP.. because bridge had mac of wifi interface which is falling...

And it is really annoying to manually configure Admin MAC on several hundred devices.
Mikrotik please define this thing or make this change in next release, make ethernet port number 1 by default.
MTCNA
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: Why Bridge chooses Wifi int mac address?

Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:08 pm

Bridge selects port with MAC address that has smallest numerical value and not by the type of interface.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Why Bridge chooses Wifi int mac address?

Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:04 pm

set up admin-mac and auto-mac=no for the bridge interface, so mac address will not change ever

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eworm, Georgyo, jebz, Kindis, naditarmbala, txfz and 73 guests