Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:13 pm

hi guys..

need some help here..

i've recently bought a mikrotik RB751U-2HnD
and i'm getting some weird problems..

1. winbox lag when trying to login
2. high tx drop on certain interfaces..
3. 100% CPU spike continues..
4. "patterned" drop on my bandwidth/interface

i would like to first troubleshoot the 100% cpu SPIKE that im having...

refer attached pics..
mktikimg.png
if you refer to the bandwidth monitor on my pc you can see the drop is evenly spaced...
bwidth.png
which leads me to conlude that is a cycle of cpu spikes that cause a temp freeze or something like that

edit : learn a new trick , tools > profile to see utilization..
flash_highcpu.png
any idea why my "flash" is taking up so much memory ?

any info/data you guys need to help me to troubleshoot please help...

ps : i've returned an earlier unit, cause i thought it was some hardware fault and this is the second unit and its having the same symptoms
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
ryohnosuke
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:42 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sat Feb 04, 2012 7:12 pm

any idea why my "flash" is taking up so much memory ?
I'd like to know what flash is! I never saw that.

Saludos.
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sat Feb 04, 2012 7:20 pm

'Flash' process is writing to flash memory (NAND).
Check your settings about logging/graphing.
Something is permanently writing NAND, also check in Winbox
System/Resources/Total Writes.

HTH,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
User avatar
winet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Indonesia

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sat Feb 04, 2012 7:37 pm

perhaps you should
/sys check-disk
the router will reboot once you apply it
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:23 am

'Flash' process is writing to flash memory (NAND).

Check your settings about logging/graphing.
Something is permanently writing NAND, also check in Winbox
System/Resources/Total Writes.

HTH,
well logging.. i only have the standard login and also a duplicate of some to forward it to a syslog server

graphing, well i dont use it, and there is no interface currently cfg to be graphed..

refer attached pics
loggraphs.GIF
regarding total writes, its quite high.. according to the screenshot i posted..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:24 am

perhaps you should
/sys check-disk
the router will reboot once you apply it
okie will try and and get back to you

thanks for helping
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:32 am

just did the /sys disk-check

and i've notice a "Weird" problem why has it rebooted and my int2 went to 10mbits mode ??
10int.png
10mbits.GIF
not sure if it has solve my cpu problem, will monitor/watch it again it the afternoon

a note on the 100% cpu usage, when my file(window) is winbox is open,

is the flash process suppose to spike to 100% and stay between 80 to 100% and stay there as long as the file(window) is open ?

fyi, when i open the file window, and it spikes to 100%, i automatically get disconnected from my winbox, is that suppose to happen ?guess /sys check-disk didnt do anything,
file_11.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2297
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:15 am

and i've notice a "Weird" problem why has it rebooted and my int2 went to 10mbits mode ??
There is problem with cable to ether2. Try to change it
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:59 pm

and i've notice a "Weird" problem why has it rebooted and my int2 went to 10mbits mode ??
There is problem with cable to ether2. Try to change it
the thing is.. my cables are connected to eth1, eth3, and etc5

eth2 is a master port with eth3 and eth4 its slave..

so there is no reason for to be in 10mbits mode at all...

still having occational spikes on the cpu usage for "flash" under profiling..

im guessing firmware bug and 5.12 having some bug...
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:48 pm

@forces2010
Not connected master port always shows 10Mbit, half-duplex.
Your screenshot shows that you have over 120.000 NAND writes.
I dont know what is your RB total uptime but as some comparison,
RB750 which is running over two years has 3.500.000 writes.
As I wrote earlier something writes your NAND permanently, check your config.
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sun Feb 05, 2012 5:04 pm

@forces2010
Not connected master port always shows 10Mbit, half-duplex.
Your screenshot shows that you have over 120.000 NAND writes.
I dont know what is your RB total uptime but as some comparison,
RB750 which is running over two years has 3.500.000 writes.
As I wrote earlier something writes your NAND permanently, check your config.
okie.. any idea.. where section to check in particular ?

gonna do an export and run through it line by line...

edit : did that can't seem to find a setting or config that would cause the high flash cpu usage
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:23 am

forces2010 - I am having a similar problem to you, which I have documented here - but basically when I use wifi and a skype call, I get high 'flash' usage, and I have not been able to get to the bottom of the issue.
I will be watching this thread with interest.
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 06, 2012 4:33 am

forces2010 - I am having a similar problem to you, which I have documented here - but basically when I use wifi and a skype call, I get high 'flash' usage, and I have not been able to get to the bottom of the issue.
I will be watching this thread with interest.
yeah.. through all my experience troubleshooting.. network/system/performance issues..

i got a STRONG feeling its a BUG...
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 06, 2012 4:48 am

Image

hey guys just to check with you all, i came across this screenshot

why is his local bridge l2 mtu = 2290 same as his wifi...

but on my end screenshot post #1, my l2 mtu is 1594
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:17 am

packge.png
i've disabled all the other packages which i don't use..

and im still getting high load on flash.. when i run through my export.. there is nothing that indicate

anything that would be using the flash...

any idea..

how much does it cost to log a case(this case) with mikrotik if i didnt buy from them ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
soonwai
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:10 pm

I'm currently using an RB750GL and was considering getting a RB751U-2HnD when I came across this thread. Has Mikrotik got back to any of you regarding this prob? I'm just afraid that I will end up with the same prob.
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:03 pm

I'm currently using an RB750GL and was considering getting a RB751U-2HnD when I came across this thread. Has Mikrotik got back to any of you regarding this prob? I'm just afraid that I will end up with the same prob.
They got back to me to say they couldn't reproduce the problem. I should try a different PSU (tried many with no difference) or a different unit (not easily possible for me) and then report back.

I'm using a separate (non mikrotik) wireless access point and having no troubles now.
 
ranpha
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:16 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:39 am

Disable the 'calea', 'ntp' and 'lcd' packages, and see if the NAND problem goes away. Especially the 'ntp' package.
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:46 am

Disable the 'calea', 'ntp' and 'lcd' packages, and see if the NAND problem goes away. Especially the 'ntp' package.
Do you have any information about why the NTP package could cause a problem? And any advice for keeping accurate time without it?
 
ranpha
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:16 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:31 pm

The ntp package is for installing an NTP server (and also a client) on your routerOS installation. This means the devices on your network can use your router to update their system clock.

If you disable it, routerOS will function only as an NTP client. Good enough if you want to use accurate clock for logging etc. The devices on your network should use external stratum 3 or 4 NTP servers like the pool.ntp.org clusters anyway.
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:03 pm

They got back to me to say they couldn't reproduce the problem. I should try a different PSU (tried many with no difference) or a different unit (not easily possible for me) and then report back.

I'm using a separate (non mikrotik) wireless access point and having no troubles now.
damn that sucks, :( guess we need to wait until a new revision of the board to come out.. or a newer version of rOS ,
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:04 pm

Disable the 'calea', 'ntp' and 'lcd' packages, and see if the NAND problem goes away. Especially the 'ntp' package.
kinda doubt those packages are using the flash....

anyway how do i read/open the supout.tif file ?

is there a reader that i can use ?
 
ranpha
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:16 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:06 pm

The 'ntp' package has this uncanny ability to restart Routerboards without warning. Those 3 packages I mentioned are usually not included in a standard RouterOS installation either.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3427
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:08 pm

have you made that support output file while you are using RouterOS v5.13 and the cpu usage is close to 100%?
Send that file to support@mikrotik.com
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:21 am

have you made that support output file while you are using RouterOS v5.13 and the cpu usage is close to 100%?
Send that file to support@mikrotik.com
done.. sent the supout.rif files to support already...

Ticket#2012022166000052

please note that im using 5.12 didnt upgrade to 5.13 yet..

if you need the supout.rif files to be 5.13 please do inform me ill find time to upgrade and configure and test it out
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:58 am

The 'ntp' package has this uncanny ability to restart Routerboards without warning. Those 3 packages I mentioned are usually not included in a standard RouterOS installation either.
Interesting. But I don't use the NTP package and still had problems.
 
ranpha
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:16 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:45 am

How about the other two, if you have it? What is your /system package print output? I use Skype too with exactly the same routerboard and has no problem.
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:52 am

How about the other two, if you have it? What is your /system package print output? I use Skype too with exactly the same routerboard and has no problem.
I don't use either of the other packages. Do you use Skype over wireless? And do you use any Apple hardware? Would you mind posting your wireless and bridge config to see if I did anything "wrong"?
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:48 am

hey just

just an update from support..

i've been told to

"I've asked to uninstall User Manager package. Disable all rules at /system logging , and /system script, if CPU load is still high."

won't be free to test this out, will test it out later and update you guys
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:50 am

Thanks. Please do keep us updated.
 
ranpha
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:16 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:39 pm

How about the other two, if you have it? What is your /system package print output? I use Skype too with exactly the same routerboard and has no problem.
I don't use either of the other packages. Do you use Skype over wireless? And do you use any Apple hardware? Would you mind posting your wireless and bridge config to see if I did anything "wrong"?
Yes I use Skype over wireless. My household is Apple-free though, we don't have those things here. Only Skype on Windows Vista.
[ranpha@RB751U-2HnD] > /interface wireless print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
 0  R name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0C:42:E2:10:04 arp=enabled interface-type=Atheros 11N mode=ap-bridge 
      ssid=<redacted> frequency=2437 band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-ht-above scan-list=default 
      wireless-protocol=any antenna-mode=txa-rxb wds-mode=disabled wds-default-bridge=none wds-ignore-ssid=no 
      bridge-mode=enabled default-authentication=yes default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0 
      default-client-tx-limit=0 hide-ssid=no security-profile=<redacted> compression=no 
[ranpha@RB751U-2HnD] > /interface bridge print 
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
 0  R name="bridge-local" mtu=1500 l2mtu=2290 arp=proxy-arp mac-address=00:0C:42:E2:10:00 protocol-mode=rstp 
      priority=0x8000 auto-mac=no admin-mac=00:0C:42:E2:10:00 max-message-age=20s forward-delay=15s 
      transmit-hold-count=6 ageing-time=5m 
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:48 am

Thanks. I will check out my setup when I get an opportunity. Here's hoping its just a simple mis-configuration on my end!
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Wed Feb 29, 2012 12:26 pm

I've got some different settings, but haven't been able to make a Skype call to check. Why do you have antenna-mode=txa-rxb and are you using an external antenna?
 
User avatar
soonwai
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:56 pm

I finally got my RB751U-2HnD. 2 units actually. Upgraded both to 5.14. First one I did a bTest on my MacBook Pro. Second unit, I downloaded a bunch of stuff from iTunes on a 5mbps FTTH line. I didn't experience any dropouts nor 100% CPU usage by the Flash process. All via WiFi, of course. I will try a Skype call tomorrow. There's no one I can call right now, it's 5am here. :-)
l.jpg
Both of my units' serial number begins with 2FF1xxxxxxxx/145.

One little problem, I couldn't get my 2010 MacBook Pro to connect to the RB751 at anything higher than 130mbps (MCS 15). The MBP uses a Broadcom chipset for its radio. Maybe that's why?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:48 am

Would be interested to hear how the Skype call goes - thats the only way I can replicate the 100% CPU and flash process. Downloading (even multiple legal torrents on a 100mbps fibre connection) works fine.

I think you need a 5ghz card to connect at anything over 130mbps to your Mac.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24323
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:44 am

Any one of you use the Dude maybe? To monitor the router?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:32 am

I tried various SNMP monitoring software. Became unresponsive as all other interfaces. Didn't use the Dude as I'm not a Windows user.
 
User avatar
soonwai
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:32 pm

2 hours ago, while I was out, the RB751U-2HnD decided to reboot itself. I wonder what happened. At that time I only had one Mac connected to it downloading 3 torrents simultaneously (part of my stress test). I wasn't home but got notification of it when it emailed me its new IP address.
Would be interested to hear how the Skype call goes - thats the only way I can replicate the 100% CPU and flash process. Downloading (even multiple legal torrents on a 100mbps fibre connection) works fine.

I think you need a 5ghz card to connect at anything over 130mbps to your Mac.
You're right, MBP connects at 300mbps to my Airport Extreme at 5Ghz only. It seems Apple decided not to enable 40Mhz width at 2.4GHz. I read that if one boots up Windows using Bootcamp, it will connect just fine at 300mbps at 2.4GHz.

Back in the house now, will try Skype soon.
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:15 pm

2 hours ago, while I was out, the RB751U-2HnD decided to reboot itself. I wonder what happened. At that time I only had one Mac connected to it downloading 3 torrents simultaneously (part of my stress test). I wasn't home but got notification of it when it emailed me its new IP address.
what error did you get ? upon reboot the first line , is the error code , code 1 ?

the error code same with this dude ? "http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=59805"

seems like quite a number of ppl having weird problems
 
User avatar
soonwai
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur

RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Fri Mar 02, 2012 3:02 pm

Yeah, that's the error I got. The same one that one gets if the router is powered off without issuing a shutdown command. Come to think of it, I didn't pay attention to the cause number. It's no longer in the log now. Since then it hasn't rebooted.
 
User avatar
soonwai
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:53 am

I 've just encountered the Flash CPU usage problem.

Flash 80% CPU, still responding to pings, ssh/webgui not responding, wifi clients can't connect, can still login via winbox, very slow, able to reboot. Happened this morning, not sure what time but I only realized it at around 11am.

Overnight was downloading just one well-seeded torrent over lan and seeding about 10 others but less than 1mbps upload in total. Nothing else. No Skype calls or anything like that.

Doesn't look good for this router. Will be changing back to my RB750GL + Airport Extreme once I'm done experimenting with it.
 
phrozenpenguin
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:13 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:02 pm

Thanks for the update. Glad its not just me.
 
User avatar
soonwai
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:14 pm

It's kinda happening again. For the last 5 mins or so, I was watching the Flash process in Profiler fluctuating between 20 & 80%. Now it seems to have stopped. No entries were written to the log. Sector writes in Resources did not increase. Nothing on the network stressing the router. No downloads going on.
 
forces2010
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:14 pm

have u all down graded it back to 5.06 and test to see if the bug/issue is there or not

i got a friend using 5.06 and he doesn't seem to have any trouble..
 
thiagotg
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:51 pm

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:53 pm

Any one of you use the Dude maybe? To monitor the router?
I am using The Dude
 
notwork
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:11 pm

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:17 pm

I'm also seeing this problem with my RB751U-2HnD. 100% flash usage in profiler, with random reboots/inability to login with Winbox. I've tried disabling SNMP, removing all graphing, uninstalling ntp/user-manager/ipv6/routing and ensuring that transparent proxy is not used for hotspot.
This RB acts as a hotspot for a coffee shop, with a max of about 15 users who use only the 'trial' functionality. Also has a VAP on same wlan card, but doesn't see much traffic.

Only occurrs when a few users are logged on and actually using the hotspot. Not using the dude or anything else that polls the router.
 
dison4linux
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 4:26 pm

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:20 am

I had this problem as well with my RB751U-2HnD, but it seemed to go away around ROS v 5.16-5.17. Exact same symptoms as everyone else has reported above. 80% or so CPU usage in the "flash" category with no hotspot, usermanager, proxy, ntp, or anything else mentioned to check above. I thought I was home free when the issue seemed to go away a few months ago. Just the other day I upgraded to 5.20 and the issue with the high CPU in the "flash" category is back. I also did a /system check-disk and did a full format and re-install using netinstall, no help.
 
2400baud
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 1:04 am

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Dec 17, 2012 1:10 am

I'm seeing the same thing -- 100% CPU spikes on my RB751U-2HnD running 5.22, associated with 'flash' in the profiler.
There's a dozen or so clients on the network at a given time, largely doing low-bandwidth stuff through their ISP.
The only thing I use to poll the router is Winbox itself, which I started using when I started seeing "hangage".
I have remote syslog configured for critical/error/warning, but that's not much logging. No scripts.
There's occasionally Apple gear on the network, but mostly iPads/iPhones.
 
depe
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:06 pm

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:15 am

Same problem with 6.0rc5, downgraded to 5.22 and everything seems to de fine.
 
PastuhMedvedey
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:37 am

Same problem with 6.0rc5, downgraded to 5.22 and everything seems to de fine.
No, in the version 5.22 is also not okay with the heavy load of the process "flash". Look here:
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 57#p346857
RB751U-2HnD, RB2011LS, RB1100AH, RB433, RB411GL, RBSXT, CCR1016
 
User avatar
samotoka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: Hot Water Beach, New Zealand

Re: RB751U-2HnD , 100% cpu usage, winbox login lag

Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:01 pm

I thing that the problems came from upgrade ROS - clean netinstall help to me and 5.22 works fine.
Proud owner of a RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN with ROS 6.19,
pc i586 2004 Mhz Athlon XP with ROS 3.30,
pc i586 330 Mhz Pentium II with ROS 3.30,
old pc 233 Mhz Cirix with ROS 2.9.27

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 93 guests