Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
cmarazzi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:12 pm

PPPoE with Radius Athentication and URL Advertise

Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:19 pm

Is there a way to setup the routerOS so that customer that connect via PPPoE also get a forced advertiseURL. Or a Force first page.

Thanks

Carlo
 
User avatar
ramona
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 2:13 pm
Location: Africa , pointe noir

Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:10 pm

hi,
with radius u can use the attribute Exec-Program-Wait allows you to set up an external program which is executed after authentication , put it in your users file /etc/raddb/users and make a script to redirect them after the authentication and that;s it , it work :P :wink:
 
ofasa
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:42 pm

Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:26 pm

RouterOS accepts the "Advertise-URL" radius attribute.
Just configure your radius server to send it as a reply attribute when the customer logs on.
 
freebird
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:16 pm

Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:06 pm

ofasa: Are you sure this attribute works for clients authentificating via PPPoE Client, too? It sounds to me like a hotspot feature.

cmarazzi uses PPPoE Dialin, not the Web-based Hotspot Login.

seandsl
--
 
cmarazzi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:12 pm

Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:41 pm

I tried it but with PPPoE this does not work. I guess this attribute is only for HotSpot. Maybe someone from MikroTik can clarify this.


I would like to use these feture because when my customer get their account suspended due to payment, they think the rsone they are not cooecting has to do with something technical in ther computer, as so they go in into thier PC configurations and mess it all up. Until they deside to call and we need to get them to pay and also provide tech support to fix what they messed up. So I would like to send them message to their web browser day before they are going to be suspeneded. The other thing I wanted to do was to allow suspended customer to conect but have all ther traffic redirected to a payment portal.

any ideas?

thanks

Carlo
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24496
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:01 am

advertise url will not work for pppoe. what you can do is - assign different addresses for the non-paying pppoe users, and then redirect those addresses to a proxy which will then redirect them to some webpage.
 
cmarazzi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:12 pm

Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:32 pm

advertise url will not work for pppoe. what you can do is - assign different addresses for the non-paying pppoe users, and then redirect those addresses to a proxy which will then redirect them to some webpage.
normis thank you for the answer. I set different pools for different type of customers. Can you give me some hints for how I would go about redirecting certin addresses to a proxy, would I hve to mark the packet first?

Thanks.

Carlo
 
kthameen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:22 am
Location: Leuven,Belgium

hi ramona

Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:31 am

hi,
with radius u can use the attribute Exec-Program-Wait allows you to set up an external program which is executed after authentication , put it in your users file /etc/raddb/users and make a script to redirect them after the authentication and that;s it , it work :P :wink:
hey ramona
i am from lebanon too,plz if u can setup all this pppoe plus authentication for me,I would be gladful my mail is khaledthameen@terra.net.lb.
thank you
 
hzeid
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:57 am
Location: Lebanon

Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:31 pm

hey khalid i can help u if u want. hope u still remember me.
Hadi Zeid i am a neighbor if u still remeber. good luck

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], pongsakp9 and 67 guests