Community discussions

 
ab130kd
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: Italy

PPPoE over EOIP

Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:27 pm

Dear Sirs,
I have a RB1100AHx2 as concentrator PPPoE and a lot of tunnel EOIP over a big ospf network. Mikrotik set by default 1480 as MTU. Is it correct use 1480? If is not correct, how much must be and where must I change MTU, because on different message read different MTU. Where must I change the MTU, in pppoe server or on every EOIP interface?
Now pings, going from a simple ospf network to ospf + EOIP network + PPPoE concentrator, increase a lot and I don't understand where I'm wrong.
Thanks in advance for help...
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: PPPoE over EOIP

Thu Feb 09, 2012 12:36 am

Dear Sirs,
I have a RB1100AHx2 as concentrator PPPoE and a lot of tunnel EOIP over a big ospf network. Mikrotik set by default 1480 as MTU. Is it correct use 1480? If is not correct, how much must be and where must I change MTU, because on different message read different MTU. Where must I change the MTU, in pppoe server or on every EOIP interface?
Now pings, going from a simple ospf network to ospf + EOIP network + PPPoE concentrator, increase a lot and I don't understand where I'm wrong.
Thanks in advance for help...
To get a stable setup, use VPLS instead of eoip.

To understand where MTU fails, and fragmention is started (make a big increace in CPU load, memory and wireless bandwith ussage) try ping and use packet size.

also. its a lot of old topics. try http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=54890
 
ab130kd
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PPPoE over EOIP

Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:36 pm

OK,
I'm trying to implement PPPoE over VPLS but when I change in the bridge the interface from EOIP to VPLS, the PPPoE concentrator not authenticate the Clients. Could you help me?
Thanks in advance
Carlo
 
rodolfo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 543
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:50 am

Re: PPPoE over EOIP

Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:46 pm

do you change the interface of pppoe server from eoip to vpls ?
does the vpls is correctly setup ?
rodolfo
IZ0UQV
 
ab130kd
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PPPoE over EOIP

Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:31 am

Dear Rodolfo,
I solved ..... the problem was the MPLS in OSPF... You must publish the connected routes in the Istance of OSPF... now all works.
Now I have another question...
the MTU in MPLS and in VPLS?
Thanks in advance
Carlo
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: PPPoE over EOIP

Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:47 am

Dear Rodolfo,
I solved ..... the problem was the MPLS in OSPF... You must publish the connected routes in the Istance of OSPF... now all works.
Now I have another question...
the MTU in MPLS and in VPLS?
Thanks in advance
Carlo
depends on what your settings are at interface. If possible, run l2mtu at higest possible level. (eg, same as the lowest value possible in entire l2 network)
 
ab130kd
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PPPoE over EOIP

Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:37 am

In the network there are RB493AH, RB433AH and RB1100AH2 where there is routing ospf and mpls. Could you help me?
Thanks in advance,
Carlo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 95 guests