Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Roy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:56 am

RB435G CPU

Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:30 am

Hi all,

I wish to know detail about RB435G CPU specification.
is it 32bit? or 64bit?

our customer say, 2X2 mimo with 3~5 slot will be not good performance for 32bit CPU and it may cause of malfunctioning.
Wish to get answer from Mikrotik.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB435G CPU

Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:16 am

32Bit. It's absolutely not true about 64Bits. Bits have nothing to do with how MIMO will perform.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
DynStatic
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 3:11 am

RB435G CPU

Tue Mar 27, 2012 4:02 am

64 bit CPUs can address more memory and usually address it faster. X86 64 bit CPUs have additional registries and specialized op codes.

None of this helps a router shuffle 1500 bytes through its small buffer from one interface to another. The mipsbe processor is well suited to network operations due to its RISC design.

The router only works with small amounts of data at a time so even tho it may process gigabits of data a second, the extra address space of 64 bit CPUs doesn't help since it doesn't look at all of that data all at once.

Putting 3 to 5 cards in the same case will kill your wireless performance due to RF noise, not lack of CPU power.
 
Roy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:56 am

Re: RB435G CPU

Wed Mar 28, 2012 5:01 am

RB800 CPU is 64bit?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB435G CPU

Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:02 am

RouterOS has no 64Bit support,
and none of RouterBOARD CPUs are 64Bit.
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nichky and 93 guests