Community discussions

 
snowpro
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:56 am
Location: Ottawa Canada

will replacement 450G hand out same ip addresses

Thu Apr 26, 2012 3:11 pm

I want to swap out a 450g that is doing dhcp for 75 accounts

If set up the same way, will the new one hand out the same addresses to
the accounts on line?

thanks
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: will replacement 450G hand out same ip addresses

Thu Apr 26, 2012 3:33 pm

It will if you make the leases static
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
snowpro
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:56 am
Location: Ottawa Canada

Re: will replacement 450G hand out same ip addresses

Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:11 am

thanks for the response

yes in the original router all addresses were marked as static

I will try the switch tonight

thanks again

in Ottawa

I did try and it was not handing out the same ones and soon had a customer calling and I was
seeing ip conflicts.

Any ideas: should the router be disconnected for five or ten minutes perhaps?
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: will replacement 450G hand out same ip addresses

Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:50 am

Just copy over DHCP lease records and you'll get the same addresses.
 
jtroybailey
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 10:24 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: will replacement 450G hand out same ip addresses

Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:05 am

from the old one run:
/ip dhcp-server lease export
Then simply paste the output into the new one.
 
snowpro
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:56 am
Location: Ottawa Canada

Re: will replacement 450G hand out same ip addresses

Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:34 pm

thank you both, I will try again after there is not much traffic

thank you

I tried in terminal (don't see export in winbox)
I copy the screen but when I transfer to new router I get "input does not match value of server"
not sure what part to copy

[admin@MikroTik] >
[admin@MikroTik] > /ip dhcp-server lease
[admin@MikroTik] /ip dhcp-server lease> add address=10.5.50.239 always-broadcast
=yes client-id=1:0:15:6d:ee:a9:c3 comment="" disabled=no \
\... mac-address=00:15:6D:EE:A9:C3 server=server1
input does not match any value of server
[admin@MikroTik] /ip dhcp-server lease> add address=10.5.50.220 always-broadcast
=yes client-id=1:0:15:6d:d0:95:75 comment="" disabled=no \
\... mac-address=00:15:6D:D0:95:75 server=server1

goes on for the whole list
 
snowpro
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:56 am
Location: Ottawa Canada

Re: will replacement 450G hand out same ip addresses

Sun Apr 29, 2012 7:13 pm

got it with everyone's help

the name of the server was not the same in both routers

changed name to match and all is good

thanks again

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 119 guests