Community discussions

 
towerguy
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:25 pm

Just tired of this.

Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:22 pm

Well, here we go again. I will never use a new upgrade ver. for at least 6 months. I'm tired of being the guinea pig. You people act like nothing is wrong, it is you, maybe so, but I just put 5.15 in 3 APs (433 cards and XR-2 cards) within a day or two, the APs quit working. The XR-2 :( card was running, 0 traffic being passed. Downgraded to 5.14, problem solved. I wish you guys would get you act together before you post this stuff. I'm tired of having to trouble shoot it for you. It cost me money, time, and angry customers. I will be moving more and more to Ubiquiti, as my cash flow allows.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Just tired of this.

Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:24 pm

1. Please don't post this in the wrong forums or the correct people will not read it
2. What is "quit working"? We have no bug reports about such issues, try contacting support first. Forums users can't help you with this.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1887
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: Just tired of this.

Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:56 pm

Well, here we go again. I will never use a new upgrade ver. for at least 6 months. I'm tired of being the guinea pig. You people act like nothing is wrong, it is you, maybe so, but I just put 5.15 in 3 APs (433 cards and XR-2 cards) within a day or two, the APs quit working. The XR-2 :( card was running, 0 traffic being passed. Downgraded to 5.14, problem solved. I wish you guys would get you act together before you post this stuff. I'm tired of having to trouble shoot it for you. It cost me money, time, and angry customers. I will be moving more and more to Ubiquiti, as my cash flow allows.
I think at some stage we all have encountered issues with a new OS version but after a bad experience we have to have plan to test before going live with a new OS version (and this applies to whatever brand of wireless equipment you use?) after this test period if all is OK then upgrade in a phased manner and not all at once, this way you are reducing the chances of issues appearing and more importantly in the avoidance of getting calls from unhappy customers.
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
taduikis
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:09 pm

Just tired of this.

Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:34 pm

I am a lucky guy, it seems. Because up until now I've been doing mass upgrades blindly and luckily everything worked fine. Going to be more careful in the future.
 
User avatar
ohara
Member
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:30 pm
Location: Warsaw

Re: Just tired of this.

Fri Apr 27, 2012 7:56 pm

Towerguy, I understand your grief and don't want this comment to lead to off topic discussions. But what were you trying to fix with the upgrade? If you were looking for a fix of wireless performance issues on a Rb433 then you'll be better off to check the physical side of your network first. In the end I'd bet that it's the ubnt card that is causing you issues and neither mikrotik hardware nor software. On the other hand don't try to fix something which works in production without problems.
 
markom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:42 pm

Re: Just tired of this.

Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:01 pm

I can't understand people who always do something on live equipment (production, commercial...) The first rule in IT is, and always will be, "If something working good, don't touch never, ever"
New release is for new equipment which are prepared for exploitation. For that reason there is always lab conditions before starting using something new and when You absolutely 100% convinced that everything is ok, then You can exploit HW and SW
 
towerguy
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:25 pm

Re: Just tired of this.

Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:06 pm

Markom.

I agree, you are exactly right.
 
taduikis
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:09 pm

Just tired of this.

Sat Apr 28, 2012 12:59 am

You should check the changelog in the first place if there are any improvements that affect you. New features are constantly added and existing ones are improved quite often. So I personally do not agree with leaving currently working equipment without ROS upgrade for a long time. Otherwise we'd be running v3 or even v2.9 in some eq.. it worked well THEN.
Testing period, that I give.. But never ever upgrading stuff that works..oh c'mon..

Besides, crying in the forum definitely won't help. Mikrotik guys sometimes are stuborn and deaf to us, but let's admit, they are doing great job here..
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: Just tired of this.

Sun Apr 29, 2012 1:29 am

You should check the changelog in the first place if there are any improvements that affect you. New features are constantly added and existing ones are improved quite often. So I personally do not agree with leaving currently working equipment without ROS upgrade for a long time. Otherwise we'd be running v3 or even v2.9 in some eq.. it worked well THEN.
Testing period, that I give.. But never ever upgrading stuff that works..oh c'mon..

Besides, crying in the forum definitely won't help. Mikrotik guys sometimes are stuborn and deaf to us, but let's admit, they are doing great job here..

I've seen multiple reports about the AP in .15 dropping out after awhile... so it is definately a bug in .15

I wish they would create public beta's of EVERY point release and get feedback. For example, .15 has a bug where it doesn't put passwords on users from the command line (well discussed here already)... that's been a week or so, and no fix. That is a SERIOUS problem. If there was a public beta on the download page of .15, then people that want to try it would do so and report before other people used it. As it is now, .15 is the ONLY choice for the stable download. They don't leave previous dot releases on the download page, and unless you know where to look, you don't have access to them.

Also, anytime I've asked for support directly from mikrotik, they always insist that I load the newest version regardless of the problem.

Also, the changelogs don't always tell all the changes.
 
dison4linux
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 4:26 pm

Re: Just tired of this.

Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:23 am

Not to discount anything that you have said, but it is quite easy to obtain [some of] the previous releases. Just copy the URL for the latest version and change the version number.
For example if you right click on the current download and select copy link URL you will see that the URL is http://download2.mikrotik.com/routeros-mipsbe-5.15.npk (for mipsbe for example). All you have to do is replace 5.15 with 5.14 (or whatever version you want) and paste the new URL in the browser, and down it will come...
The last time I checked, it worked for 5.9 5.11 5.12 5.13 5.14.
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: Just tired of this.

Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:12 am

Not to discount anything that you have said, but it is quite easy to obtain [some of] the previous releases. Just copy the URL for the latest version and change the version number.
For example if you right click on the current download and select copy link URL you will see that the URL is http://download2.mikrotik.com/routeros-mipsbe-5.15.npk (for mipsbe for example). All you have to do is replace 5.15 with 5.14 (or whatever version you want) and paste the new URL in the browser, and down it will come...
The last time I checked, it worked for 5.9 5.11 5.12 5.13 5.14.
For us people here on the forum, yes... but what about the many people that simply use the products and don't use the forum? They aren't going to know how to get previous versions... or if there are any previous versions. They will simply go to the official website, go to the downloads page, and their is their only choice clearly labeled STABLE/RECOMMENDED. Unless you search the forums, you aren't going to know that 5.15 doesn't save passwords, or that 5.7 quits working with dhcp on a disabled interface... and then there aren't any updates on the download page for 6 weeks.
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: Just tired of this.

Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:47 am

This is not the first nor the last time to happen.

The new ROS release use is always a gamble. Choosing one can not be based on the published CHANGELOG file because MT refuses to publish full set of changes what they have done to given release (or maybe they do not know what they did on it?).
If you see a release then just wait for a month. Within a given time there are plenty of people trying that release and populating the MT forum with their experiences. Only after that you'll evaluate if you'll be affected or not and give a pass or try it out.


Note: If you insist of getting help from MT then they only accept error reports from the latest releases (so it is quite pointless to report an issue from any older release), so if you have issues then you must go for the latest release. Also, the MT forum is not actually a part of MT software testing ecosystem - people can come here just to ventilate themselves here and that is pretty much all.
 
taduikis
Member
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:09 pm

Just tired of this.

Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:14 am

I think there are rc's (release candidates) for every next version. Though I'm not sure they're publically obtainable, MT sometimes sends it if asked.

As for problems after upgrades, I still don't reject the possibility of false alarms by users themselves. We always need someone to blame.. At this occasion it happens to be MT responsible they're for that or not
 
Netsplite
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:13 pm

Re: Just tired of this.

Wed May 09, 2012 11:46 am

Well that's always the risk of running the latest and greatest...no piece of software is bug free as not all things can be tested as this will make the development cycle too long.
Always best to have a test machine before upgrading anyway if you are gonna do an upgrade on production environments, and if you find a bug then you can file a bug report and it will get fixed.
 
User avatar
TomjNorthIdaho
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 985
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho
Contact:

Re: Just tired of this.

Wed May 09, 2012 3:22 pm

1. Please don't post this in the wrong forums or the correct people will not read it
2. What is "quit working"? We have no bug reports about such issues, try contacting support first. Forums users can't help you with this.
Do you now have bug reports on 5.15 in AP mode having wlan lockup problems?

I have about 2 dozen APs that started locking up the wlan the moment I installed 5.15


(( question - is http://bugs.mikrotik-routeros.com owned/operated by Mikrotik? ))


Tom Jones
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Just tired of this.

Wed May 09, 2012 3:25 pm

is http://bugs.mikrotik-routeros.com owned/operated by Mikrotik
no
Do you now have bug reports on 5.15 in AP mode having wlan lockup problems?
yes, we are working on it. if you have any more information, please email support
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1166
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Just tired of this.

Sat Jul 07, 2012 6:03 pm

is http://bugs.mikrotik-routeros.com owned/operated by Mikrotik
I run it and am entirely independently of MikroTik.

It is done as an effort to make common issues known so people like the OP who want to run a certain version and know what if any bugs were present in that version and to allow people to report bugs they have raised with MikroTik and/if when they are fixed.

If anyone has any further questions I can be reached via the main site www.mikrotik-routeros.com (also unaffiliated with MikroTik) however I will primarily respect MikroTik's wishes in regards to any requests to remove content if asked.
brightwifi.com | mikrotik-routeros.com | MTCNA,MTCWE.MTCTCE | Give karma where due

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 79 guests