Community discussions

 
bassembotros
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 11:49 am

about clock of the Router Board

Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:01 pm

why always the clock of RB1100ahx2 has to be set every time when the router rebooted ???
it gives always Jan/01/1970
 
rodolfo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 543
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:50 am

Re: about clock of the Router Board

Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:16 pm

because routerboard do not have batteries
when you reboot theclock is set to 0
you need to configure ntp client if you want to automatically setup the clock
rodolfo
IZ0UQV
 
bassembotros
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 11:49 am

Re: about clock of the Router Board

Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:05 pm

how i can get ntp clients can you give me more expression ?
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Re: about clock of the Router Board

Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:42 pm

I use winbox but cli would work too.
first click on system on left and chose clock. set your time zone. don't worry about date or time.
then click on system and ntp or sntp. now click on enable then unicast. the address boxes will open up and you can put in you NTP server ip address or a ntp site on the internet. google to find ones close to you. I use 192.43.244.18 and129.6.15.29. click on apply and your routher board should not contact the NTP server and get the correct time. you can click on log on the left and see if it changed the time. This will automatically connect each time you reboot and get new time.

I hope this help you.
 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Re: about clock of the Router Board

Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:44 pm

It depends on whether you have ntp package installed or not, you can check it in /system packages.
If it is installed you can configure ntp client, if not you can configure sntp client, which is practically the same.
Now to configure ntp client go to System ntp client, there select enabled, mode=unicast, primary server=europe.pool.ntp.org
and secondary server=time.nist.gov

@gcs we posted at the same time :)
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do
 
bassembotros
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 11:49 am

Re: about clock of the Router Board

Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:11 pm

gcs & Caci99 thanx alot for ur help :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 92 guests