Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Thu May 10, 2012 5:25 pm

Hi

Would it work?

To only set the priority under queue - tree whitout any limits. ?
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Thu May 10, 2012 5:28 pm

How would it know where the limit is to know when to prioritize traffic?
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Thu May 10, 2012 5:40 pm

Thats why I´m asking =)

If their is no limit set, would it priority that data who has the lowest priority set under that parent.

edit. because you can add a child queue whitout any limit, why is that possible if it doesent work?
 
hel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 6:31 am
Location: Kirov, Russia

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Thu May 10, 2012 5:45 pm

You want Low Latency Queueing, RouterOS currently doesn't support it.
You can add your sig to a feature request wiki page, so developers will see it.
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Thu May 10, 2012 6:19 pm

Thanks, did a quick research on google and found out that it was developed by cisco.

How do I vote for this feature?
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Thu May 10, 2012 6:35 pm

Just post a feature request here.

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewforum.php?f=1
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Thu May 10, 2012 7:28 pm

But i also found the request here:

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/MikroTik_ ... e_Requests

Implement LLQ (Low Latency Queuing). Important for giving priority to one type of traffic over another, not just reserving bandwidth for each type. Especially important for growing number of VoIP implementations around the world.
 
void
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 5:28 pm

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Thu May 10, 2012 7:50 pm

This would be a GREAT feature !
 
hel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 6:31 am
Location: Kirov, Russia

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Fri May 11, 2012 1:23 pm

Don't sit and wait, until developers find time to understand that this is an useful feature. Just write one feature request on forum and wiki.
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Tue May 15, 2012 2:32 pm

I Found this, http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/DSCP_based_QoS_with_HTB

Seems that you can prioritize traffic without any limit.
 
hel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 6:31 am
Location: Kirov, Russia

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Tue May 15, 2012 11:30 pm

DSCP is for marking packets only.
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Fri May 18, 2012 11:47 am

did you even read the attached link?
 
troy
Member
Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:47 pm

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Sat May 19, 2012 3:35 am

The stuff posted on that page works great as-is, but the OP was asking about being able to do it without first defining the amount of bandwidth available on the link. In other words, he doesn't care how much bandwidth is being used, but he wants to give different priorities to different types of traffic. Personally, I have a queue on my home router, and it works wonders for giving games priority over my daughter's youtube or torrents.

I wonder though... is there a way to use statistical data to determine the maximum data rate over the last XX minutes, and use that to dynamically update the queue to show 105% of the max used, then give different types of data different amounts of bandwidth.. VOIP 20%, SSH/telnet 10% to absolutely cover the +5%, http/s up to 60%, pop3/smtp 25%, etc...

This would also eliminate sudden bursts that could potentially cause disruption to the network. It would really smooth out the flow rates. It would also be a great way to keep torrent traffic from interfering with more interactive/important communications.

This might make for an interesting experiment if I remember to work on it when I free up some time.

-Troy
 
hel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 6:31 am
Location: Kirov, Russia

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Sat May 19, 2012 5:30 pm

did you even read the attached link?
DSCP is for packets marking, it allows other routers to not mangle different types of traffic. Just catch packets with DSCP value in mangle and prioritize them in HTB.
 
deejayq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:33 am

Re: queue tree whitout any limit, just priority.

Sun Nov 04, 2012 1:57 pm

would setting limit-at to a very small value (ex. 1500 bytes) simulate low latency queue behaviour?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: codebreaker, Google [Bot], mbovenka and 117 guests