Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
tbutcher
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:38 pm

EoIP Problem

Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:07 pm

I have created an EoIP tunnel between an x86 router and a Routerboard router. They have different MACs but the same tunnel ID and I have assigned an IP to each tunnel. Both router can ping each other on the external address but can ping each other using the tunnel address. I see TX packets on the Routerboard when i try and ping but no RX packets. On the x86 router there is no TX or RX packets when pinging.

I have successfully created a PPTP connection so I know the firewalls are open for GRE.

Does any anybody have EoIP working on 2.9.10? Also how can I tell if the tunnel is successfully connected?

Tim
 
tbutcher
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:38 pm

Thu Jan 12, 2006 7:20 pm

Is nobody using EoIP?

Tim
 
User avatar
YazzY
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:26 pm
Location: Norway, Østfold
Contact:

Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:49 pm

Yeah, it's a simple tap interface that Mikrotik renamed to make it easier to understand the purpose of it. The same goes to IPIP which is a tun iface.
EoIP allways worked for me.
Did you check your input chains ?
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:55 pm

I've been having trouble with EoIP, it would be good to have a status indicator to know if it is running correctly or at least something in the log.
 
User avatar
YazzY
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:26 pm
Location: Norway, Østfold
Contact:

Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:56 pm

What RouterOS version(s) are you using on the peers?
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:11 pm

I've had issues with it on 2.8.28 and 2.9.x
 
User avatar
YazzY
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:26 pm
Location: Norway, Østfold
Contact:

Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:14 pm

Allways on the same hardware or did you try to switch your nics etc and see how it acts?
 
tbutcher
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:38 pm

Fri Jan 13, 2006 8:28 pm

I have tried plugging the router together and still I can't ping using the EoIP tunnel. Do you need a certain NIC to support EoIP like you do for VLAN?

Tim
 
tbutcher
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:38 pm

Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:30 am

Ok I have fixed the problem. I was dropping invalid packets, when I disabled the firewall EoIP started working as expected.

Thanks.

Tim
 
User avatar
YazzY
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:26 pm
Location: Norway, Østfold
Contact:

Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:20 am

That's exactly what I told you to do in my first answer.
I am glad you solved it, good luck.
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:15 am

Tim

Can you check http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/EoIP and see if I got it right - updated it if it is wrong. We are getting some real gems of info here in Prague but forgot to ask about this one yet

:D

Harv
 
tbutcher
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:38 pm

Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:47 am

The instructions look fine but I suggest you add a note that if you drop invalid connections on your firewall it will not work. Drop invalid connections is recommend in the FAQ on "Securing your router" so I expect quite a few people will be doing it.

Tim

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], kalamaja, seriosha, sindy, xvo and 109 guests