Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
vddsd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:12 am
Location: NB, Canada

Winbox Issue - Does not Detect Unplugged Monitor

Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:20 am

I use Winbox mostly when my laptop is docked (with two additional monitors), and when docked, I move Winbox onto one of my three monitors. The issue is that when I undock my laptop, and later try to open Winbox, Winbox does not appear on my laptop's screen, but rather to the last <remembered> screen position, which no longer exists. The only way to make Winbox appear on my laptop screen when undocked is to temporarily rename the winbox.cfg file and then open Winbox.

Is there a command line (or something) I can do to have Winbox appear on my only available monitor when undocked? In case it matters, my two additional monitors are positioned to the left of my laptop when docked.

Thanks,

Shaun
 
vddsd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:12 am
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Winbox Issue - Does not Detect Unplugged Monitor

Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:09 pm

I found a workaround, but I still feel this issue should be fixed in a future version of Winbox.

The workaround is to open Winbox and ensure it is the active application (in the foreground) even though it is not visible on the screen. Then, press <ALT> + <SPACE>. From the pop-up menu, select <Move>. The mouse cursor will change into the <four arrows> that allow an application to be moved. Using the KEYBOARD arrows (not the mouse), move the Winbox window to either the right or left, depending on your monitor configuration.

Like I said, the workaround works, but it would be nice if Winbox would detect that a monitor has been removed and would automatically default its position to a valid one.

Cheers,

Shaun
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24792
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox Issue - Does not Detect Unplugged Monitor

Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:10 pm

I'm sorry but we cannot repeat the described issue. Winbox always opens on the active monitor, if the second one was disconnected.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
vddsd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:12 am
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Winbox Issue - Does not Detect Unplugged Monitor

Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:40 am

This is occurring on all least three laptops that I have access to at our organization (all different models laptops). Our setup consists of Windows 7-based machines, using the latest version of Winbox available on the Mikrotik website.

I can easily reproduce this by placing Winbox on my 2nd or 3rd monitor and then closing Winbox. If I re-open Winbox while the monitors are still plugged in, Winbox will re-open at its latest position (2nd or 3rd monitor).

Then, if I:
1) close Winbox
2) undock my laptop (which basically disconnects the external monitors)
3) open winbox
Following the three steps above, Winbox opens outside the viewable area (non-existant screen). If I delete the Winbox cfg file, Winbox reopens properly (without my settings, of course).

Anyone experiencing this?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24792
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox Issue - Does not Detect Unplugged Monitor

Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:35 am

Maybe this is a Windows bug? have you not seen similar issues with other programs?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
vk7zms
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 3:01 am
Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Contact:

Winbox Issue - Does not Detect Unplugged Monitor

Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:52 am

Win box has always braved that way - I ALWAYS make sure I move winbox to the laptop screen before closing it - that way it doesn't try and open on an extra monitor. I have always considered it an "undocumented feature" :)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24792
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox Issue - Does not Detect Unplugged Monitor

Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:56 am

We have tested this, and can't repeat it. Please check what software you have installed. Maybe there is some utility that does this. I know some people install plugins for easier window management, resizing etc
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
vaivars
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:46 am

Re: Winbox Issue - Does not Detect Unplugged Monitor

Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:16 am

Gravedigging, but this issue still exists and is not fixed.

The issue is not really related to any plugins or anything, and i have reproduced this on even a freshly installed windows 8.1 machine.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Edoras, mafiosa, RajaMani, sindy, sourianos86 and 235 guests