Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Seccour
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 11:10 pm

P2P and Hardware

Tue Jan 17, 2006 8:47 pm

Hello, we are looking at putting in a RouterOS box specifically for managing our P2P traffic. We currently have 5 Class C subnet's which it would need to handle. What hardware would you recommend for such a task ?

Right now I'm looking at an AMD 3000+, 1GB of Ram, CF OS Storage, Intel Network Cards 10/100.....
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Re: P2P and Hardware

Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:21 pm

Hello, we are looking at putting in a RouterOS box specifically for managing our P2P traffic. We currently have 5 Class C subnet's which it would need to handle. What hardware would you recommend for such a task ?

Right now I'm looking at an AMD 3000+, 1GB of Ram, CF OS Storage, Intel Network Cards 10/100.....
Intel Xeon would be better for this job...
José Ignacio Acosta
MikroTik Consultant IDAR0001
Mikronet

Movile: +54 9 3472-624722
Email/Msn: info[at]mikronet.com.ar
 
Seccour
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 11:10 pm

Re: P2P and Hardware

Tue Jan 17, 2006 11:03 pm

Hello, we are looking at putting in a RouterOS box specifically for managing our P2P traffic. We currently have 5 Class C subnet's which it would need to handle. What hardware would you recommend for such a task ?

Right now I'm looking at an AMD 3000+, 1GB of Ram, CF OS Storage, Intel Network Cards 10/100.....
Intel Xeon would be better for this job...
given your slew of benchmarks performed by various sites plus my own experince has shown that not only cost / performance ratio is in the favor of the AMD but in server scenarios i've had AMD64 even outperform the Xeon. Now granted the Xeon has more l2 cache...has anyone else had this experience or does routeros simply perform better on a Xeon ?

Cost is somewhat of an issue. I can build up a lowcost AMD64 solution and its not as easy with Xeon....

Xeon scale better with routeros ?
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:55 am

I would always go for Intel and I don't think 1gb of ram is needed, 512 is more than enough. For NIC's I would use 3com...

Cheers...
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
Seccour
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 11:10 pm

Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:30 am

Ram is a cheep upgrade and an easy one at that which requires hardly any downtime. So 512MB ram. As you'll notice i question everything, why 3Com over intel ? I current have two RouterOS routers which use 3Com and haven't had issues, but once again -- benchmarks have lead me to look at Intel vs 3Com....Pricing puts them at competitive price / performance once again. :D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bgpro, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Horci and 139 guests