Community discussions

pjulian
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author

VLAN Redundancy

Sun Aug 19, 2012 11:28 am

Hi, hoping that somebody can advise some options for this situation we have a requirement for.

We are setting up a network for a customer, they currently have 2 x RB1100AHx2 routers to act as their core routers and want to use 2 for redundancy purposes.
The issue is that they have a layer 2 connection coming in from a supplier and get handed off vlans from that supplier, normally they would just terminate the vlan on the router and add layer 3 IP to it and away they would go.
However, they want to be able to provide redundancy for these vlans from this supplier across the 2 core routers, in some cases they only need to bridge the vlan onwards to another router, it just depends on whether they can terminate the IP on the main router or another edge router, often it ends up being another router.

Unfortunately I'm not an expert in layer 2 redundancy, and whilst I would be OK to do something if it were only layer three we had to terminate, I am unsure of the correct approach when dealing with layer 2 vlan redundancy.

If anybody could suggest some options of how we might be able to tackle this for the customer that would be appreciated.

Thanks
Paul

samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: VLAN Redundancy

Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:04 pm

i think you will need to explane a bit more how this setup is done. and what is the goal to reach. like i understand U, u want to have a l2 in - terminate the vlans to one router, but have a second as a "backup". Then the "backup" need the same IP, on the vlans as the first router, to acct as the gateway? Then this is a l3 redundancy setup.

Or, is the redundancy just on the l2 net, before the IP is put to an interface?

pjulian
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author

Sun Aug 19, 2012 1:10 pm