Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
pca
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:58 am

Public block IP routing with pppoe

Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:06 am

Hello

I was wondering if someone would be able to assist in teaching me how to configure my RB493G for the following

ADSL modem in bridge mode
RouterBOARD 493G creates the pppoe link to ISP
ISP has allocated me a /29 block of addresses

How do I correctly route my allocated block, which is a different subnet to the public facing pppoe IP address through to my LAN ports?

Lets assume I have eth4, 5, 6 and 7 tied together for me LAN segment.

I'd really appreciate any help as I am only new to routing.

Thanks in advance
 
vk7zms
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 3:01 am
Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Public block IP routing with pppoe

Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:55 am

are you planning to use real world ip addresses directly on any other hosts in your network, or do you intend to setup a series of src-nat/dst-nat rules for specific ports to specific hosts etc?
 
pca
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:58 am

Re: Public block IP routing with pppoe

Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:57 am

Hi vk7zms

I am planning to use real world IP's. I have a block of /29.
I am not sure how to configure the RB493G with PPPoE and static IP, plus routed block of /29 onto a group of switched ports.

Obviously, I have the PPPoe link working however have no idea how to configure the routed block to work on the LAN side. My goal is to assign computers connected to the group of switched ports with the routed block.

Thank you for your time.
Regards
James
 
vk7zms
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 3:01 am
Location: Hobart, Tasmania
Contact:

Public block IP routing with pppoe

Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:31 pm

You don't really have to do anything to "route" the real world block as MT does it by default.

Just add the first of your real world block to whichever Ethernet port you are using for the switch master, and use this address as the default gateway for the hosts you have plugged into the switched ports.
 
pca
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:58 am

Re: Public block IP routing with pppoe

Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:54 am

Thanks for your assistance vk7zms.
I will give this a try within the next few days.

Thanks again.
 
Zebble
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 4:07 am

Re: Public block IP routing with pppoe

Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:00 am

Yup, definitely works as suggested. We have a PPPoE connection with a static ip, as well as a /28 and /29. We've assigned the first address of each subnet to a physical port on an RB1200, and made the ports standalone (ie. master ports with no slaves) and works great! Definitely nice to have completely separate and secured subnets.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: guntiss, martix77, MSN [Bot] and 147 guests