Community discussions

 
morf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:31 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg

local proxy arp ?

Mon Sep 17, 2012 10:35 am

Hello! We have the technology cisco is "Local Proxy Arp".
How about mikrotik?
 
morf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:31 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg

Re: local proxy arp ?

Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:18 pm

Maybe some other way it is implemented?
 
Feklar
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1726
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:46 pm

Re: local proxy arp ?

Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:42 pm

You are going to have to be much much clearer and more detailed in what you are looking for and what you want to do/accomplish. If you haven't gotten an answer to your post, chances are it is a very vague question that doesn't provide any real information on what you have, what you are looking for, and what you want to do.

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=45259
 
morf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:31 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg

Re: local proxy arp ?

Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:36 pm

Hello, I'm not speak well in English.
I can give a link to the description: https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-1267
 
Feklar
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1726
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:46 pm

Re: local proxy arp ?

Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:53 pm

Proxy-arp is supported and enabled. You just have to turn it on for a given routed interface.
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/Ethernet

Now I cannot answer specifically if it will do what you are wanting since I don't know how you intend to use it.
 
morf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:31 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg

Re: local proxy arp ?

Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:36 am

You did not understand me. I'm not talking about the "Proxy ARP". I'm trying to talk about the "Local Proxy Arp".
Proxy ARP - works only between interfaces.
Local Proxy Arp - router responds to any ARP request to its MAC-address on this interface.
https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/185522
 
Feklar
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1726
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:46 pm

Re: local proxy arp ?

Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:29 pm

No there is no way to restrict it to just one subnet.
 
marekm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:27 pm

Re: local proxy arp ?

Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:49 pm

Looking for the "private vlan proxy arp" feature too, see RFC 3069, supported since Linux 2.6.34, can be enabled by /proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/*/proxy_arp_pvlan . If ROS 5.x is based on 2.6.35, it should be fairly easy for Mikrotik to add this feature.

I have a few wireless APs each with client isolation enabled, connected to a switch with "protected ports" feature which basically does the same between different APs, yet would like to allow some devices in the same IP subnet to communicate through the router despite the L2 isolation. All these APs and stations connected to them have to be in the same subnet, as the stations can move between AP without IP address changes (if one sector fails, customers can be moved to adjacent sectors with weaker signal but better than nothing). Can't replace the switch (Netgear GS110TP) with a Mikrotik bridge as it has other unique features (802.3af PoE output, external 48V DC power supply, reasonable cost).
 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Re: local proxy arp ?

Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:05 pm

mikrotik does not support this future, but you can try enable (you need a little hack to routeros). Some time ago i use this hack with sysctl on v4.x
The easiest way is to use bridge and bridge firewall future (work on any ROS version)
 
marekm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:27 pm

Re: local proxy arp ?

Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:39 pm

What hack do you mean, how can I access Linux sysctl from within RouterOS 5.x on RB2011L? As I mentioned, can't really use a bridge instead of the switch I already have (couldn't find gigabit 802.3af midspan injectors with external 48V DC input at reasonable price, settled for Netgear GS110TP switch instead). Need the router (actually a virtual one, two physical ones with VRRP failover) to forward between L2 isolated hosts on the same subnet. In this case it's a private RFC1918 subnet, but the feature is also useful to avoid waste of precious public IPv4 address space by merging several small subnets into a larger one.
 
User avatar
ufm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:02 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: local proxy arp ?

Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:07 pm

I'm up this topic.
How to in routeros enable proxy_arp_pvlan in 6.6 version?
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: local proxy arp ?

Fri Sep 30, 2016 12:51 pm

As of 6.38rc7 there is a new ARP reply option on bridges "local-proxy-arp"

This allows for PVLAN type functionality on Mikrotik bridges.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 92 guests