Page 1 of 1

Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:34 pm
by ajaywi
For the last few week almost daily I have 2 out of 7 RouterBoards that will not respond to Winbox. I can usally still use IE and open the web page. But at times they stop responding to those connected to the hotspot on them.

What more is strange I have 1 of the 2 in the middle of this line of 7. so Im bridging 2 backhauls over it, and yet when the hotspot stops working, and Winbox wont let me login, I can still winbox into the next rb on the otherside of it?!

I dont know where to look for the problem, even changed out the RB and the new one started doing the same.. ARP issue?

What can I use to look for the issue?

Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:44 pm
by cbrown
Are you trying to connect to the mac address or the ip address?

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:30 am
by ajaywi
by IP.

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:38 pm
by sparrow
I have the same problem but with x86 server.
I can't acces to it using winbox by means of IP, but only using webfig.
So if I try to access using MAC with winbox I have not problem.....
I've sended a support output file to mikrotik and I'm waiting their answer..

Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:47 pm
by cbrown
Could you post /export compact

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:59 pm
by sparrow
ould you post /export compact
thanks so much for you answer, I'm apologize but I can't post the configuration, there are a lot of sensitive data...
I've posted my experience so if someone had the same issue can explain the solution.
Thanks so much too

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:37 pm
by ajaywi
I have the same issue, there is too much private info that comes from that.

I have 7 RouterBoards on the same bridged network. all are setup the same but different IPs everything worked fine for the longest time. then all of a sudden 2 started spazing out.. And its so far been the same 2, I changed out the Mikrotik hardware and it happened again. I even changed the IP thinking maybe my Fiber provider screwed with the routes or somthing but same issue.

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:40 pm
by sparrow
I have the same issue, there is too much private info that comes from that.

I have 7 RouterBoards on the same bridged network. all are setup the same but different IPs everything worked fine for the longest time. then all of a sudden 2 started spazing out.. And its so far been the same 2, I changed out the Mikrotik hardware and it happened again. I even changed the IP thinking maybe my Fiber provider screwed with the routes or somthing but same issue.
Do you have requested the mikrotik support?

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:44 pm
by ajaywi
sparrow : When yours does it, does the RB ever lock up for the users connected to it? Mine are complaining their connection just stops.

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:58 pm
by sparrow
sparrow : When yours does it, does the RB ever lock up for the users connected to it? Mine are complaining their connection just stops.
No, this is not my scenario, I haven't access only to server using winbox with IP....the users continue to surf good...

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 6:04 pm
by sparrow
Hey......I'm solved the problem just now ahahahahha.......amazing....
Now thinking how could I make to find a solution......and I found it.....
Just disabling via web the "service" winbox and enabling before....I solved it....unbelievable :lol: :lol: :lol:

Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 6:44 pm
by sjwrick
I just started experiencing the same issue on a 450G running ROS 5.19.

Remedied by disabling winbox service in Webfig interface the re-enabling.

What ROS are you guys running?

Rick

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:49 pm
by ajaywi
I have both 5.19 and 5.20.. issue with both.

Are you using Ubiquiti radios at all in your network?

I did do an Disable/Enable but within a day it was doing the same thing.

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:04 pm
by sjwrick
Yes we are using Ubiquity. A couple of Ubiquity NS M2's and an Outdoor Unifi with other Unifis behind another MT Router on that network.

Sorry to hear it repeated the issue. Will keep a watch put for it.

Rick

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:05 am
by ajaywi
Are you using 5.5.2 firmware? Im wondering if its a problem with UBNT's new firmware. Seems about the same time I started seeing the problem

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:33 pm
by sigmasquared
Getting the same on an RB750, winbox freezes, webfig still available, however now and then the passwords stop being accepted in webfig as well. Have to reboot the board before I can access again.

Will be upgrading to 5.20 this evening, on 5.11 at the moment, but nothing in the changelog referring to this so it's a shot in the dark.

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:30 am
by ajaywi
anyone noticing your free memory is being depleated daily? seems once it gets down near 2m the router locks up. Anyone else noticing this?

Re: Winbox wont always connect, usaully can still HTTP

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:16 am
by NetworkPro
WinBox not working - try this http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 18#p337918

memory is consumed - turn off Web Proxy and use latest stable relese version. If prolem still happens - make supout.rif and send to support as "memory leak bug report".

rgrds