Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:36 pm

When I reboot my router, I lose all my graphs.
How can I preserve the info of the graphs so after a reboot I can still read them?
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
randolf
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:00 pm

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:47 pm

Saving them to disk. There is an option to do that.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:57 am

Saving them to disk. There is an option to do that.
Can you explain me how that works? The manual is not showing any example. All it says 'store-on-disk' can be set to 'yes', which is default and with me always 'yes'.
But in the file list I don't see any file being created? (Not even after days...)

So, good suggestion, but how to do it?
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
randolf
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:00 pm

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:58 pm

I think that the files are hidden but I can assure you that it works. In order the graphic system be stored you have to check "Store on disk" in every graph tou are using. An advice: put a period of saving to disk much longer like "hour" I think that It saves flash write cycles.

Regards,
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:36 pm

I think that the files are hidden but I can assure you that it works. In order the graphic system be stored you have to check "Store on disk" in every graph tou are using. An advice: put a period of saving to disk much longer like "hour" I think that It saves flash write cycles.

Regards,
Wel, if they are 'hidden' how do I 'unhide' them? I don't even know what name these files would get....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:40 pm

You can't unhide them. Stored data files is for system use only and are not accessible by users.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:48 pm

also, it helps to read the manual:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Tools/Graphing
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:57 pm

You can't unhide them. Stored data files is for system use only and are not accessible by users.
That's not a lot of help then... Can you than help me out how such data can survive a reboot?
also, it helps to read the manual:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Tools/Graphing
What a good suggestion! Like I haven't already done so. In fact, this tread already told I've done so. The manual is just not of any help here....

The bottom line is: How does graph info that is very useful to see what is and has been happening over time, survive a reboot of a router?
I still would like to see my traffic over some interface after a reboot. And I would like to see what the memory usage was before a reboot.

You guys should be able to give me slightly better answers on this topic..... :(
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 4:07 pm

from this section in manual:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:To ... ng#General
store-every (24hours | 5min | hour; Default: 5min) How often to write collected data to system drive.
maybe you can suggest on how to change the text to make it more obvious, that 'store-every' with options of 24hours, 5 minutes or 1 hour make sure that collected data is saved to storage (system storage) and this is done to prevent graphing data from disappearing.

edit:

this is how it look in CLI:

ros code

[admin@OriginC] /interface ethernet> /tool graphing set store-every=

StoreEvery ::= 24hours | 5min | hour
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:20 pm

I don't know if I'm getting somewhere now.
I set the store time from every 5m to 24Hours. See what happens.

Does that now mean that if the router is rebooted after the start up it picks up old date from that 'hidden' system file?
And is that than data only from the last 24hours?
What with data from the last days/weeks/months/year?
And why is that not working when the disk write is set to 5mins? (This is always been the setting, for years...)

The month and year graph is the only way I can see if the graphs my provider are sending me (and basis for the contract/bill) are sort of the same as what I see in my router.
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:50 pm

24h setting means that it will store data every 24hours if your router reboots before that nothing will be stored.
What exactly is not working with 5min?
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:04 pm

Well, when I reboot the router, all the graphs (interfaces, cpu, memory, queues..) are gone and I am presented with a new graph....

But maybe it is this router? I have other issues now with this one too. (support request made). Dns cache can't be used. Nothing ends up in the cache. Also after some hours people start to loose ability to go on line. After a reboot all clients can go online again. (But than my graphs were all gone again...)
I see a notice of bad sectors on the hd. Can that have something to do with it?
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1065
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:26 pm

I believe what you are looking for is broken since after version 5.x, although I am not 100% sure.
The reason might be the ntp synchronizing time. The ntp clients takes a while to synchronise, thus causing
the graph to start at 1970 I believe.
Any way, as I said I am not completely sure. That is because as much as I like the graphing tool on RouterOS,
I never considered it as reliable, so it is better to store the data on some other server, like Cacti.
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do
 
01101110110110
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:19 pm

Re: How to keep my graphs after a reboot

Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:50 pm

I remember there was a script that generated actual files for the graphs using the fetch command, I can't recall what it was called but I'm sure you could check out the script repository on the wiki and find it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 78 guests