Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
amity2kare
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:24 pm
Location: INDIA

PPPoE Queues not limiting traffic

Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:42 pm

Hi,

We have been using Mikrotik Routerboards as NAS on various sites with a Radius server at the backend. I am facing this issue on one of the sites where we are using an RB450G as the NAS. The dynamic queues generated when a user logs in is proper but users tend to overshoot their allotted quota eg a user allotted 256k/256k ends up drawing 4M/2M and even more. I checked the forums and it was mentioned that "USE IP Firewall" in Bridge settings causes this so we have to disable it for PPPoE queues to work properly. I'm using RouterOS version 5.20 and this option is disabled by default so I've hit a dead-end. Any help would be welcome.

Amit
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: PPPoE Queues not limiting traffic

Sun Oct 07, 2012 3:59 pm

Hello,

Why use dynamic simple queues when you can have the most awesome queue tree in the world?

Before you ask 100 questions check this information http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPr ... of_Service and ask any additional question you may still have here.

Thanks.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: admiralchoy, Bionic, Google [Bot], kaboby and 93 guests