Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
efarey
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:01 pm

Interface rate limiting while on bridge

Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:50 pm

I am trying to set up rate limiting on an Ethernet port that is on a bridge. I want to use a device to aggrigate everyones traffic while restricting a single port to 30Mbps. I have the device set up with a single bridge that all ports are assiciated to. I then set a simple queue on one of the Ethernet ports but it doesn't work. The simple queue works if it is on a port that isn't part of the bridge but not when its part of the bridge.

Due to my IP limitations I have to have the device bridging all of the ports. Is there a way to limit a spacific Ethernet port that is part of the bridge?
 
User avatar
TheWiFiGuy
Member
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:26 pm
Location: UK

Interface rate limiting while on bridge

Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:57 am

Cant you just set the limit direct on theethernet port usising the bandwidth option in /interface ethernet ?
----------------------
Mikrotik Consultant.
MTCNA, MTWCE, MTCTCE, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
nerdtron
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:49 am

Re: Interface rate limiting while on bridge

Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:46 am

My mikrotik accepted this config.
/queue simple
add max-limit=5M/5M name=queue1 target=bridge1
Haven't tested it yet but I think it will limit traffic of interface bridge1 with 5Mbps for upload and download.

EDIT: Sorry I read it again you want to rate-limit a port that is a member of a bridge?
/queue simple
add max-limit=2M/2M name=queue1 target=port5
In this case port5 is a member of bridge1 and a simple queue can rate-limit the port.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sindy and 80 guests