Community discussions

 
rini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:28 am

how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:28 am

hi all
I have about 300 clients. this week most called me becouse Internet was very slow.
how much bandwidth do I need to satisfy them? half of them use skype

any help
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Wed Oct 31, 2012 1:29 am

hi all
I have about 300 clients. this week most called me becouse Internet was very slow.
how much bandwidth do I need to satisfy them? half of them use skype

any help
It depends on how many use it at the same time... and what they are doing.

For example, Skype recommends 300kbps up and 300kbps down for a video call.

If half of your users are using video Skype AT THE SAME TIME, then you would nee 300kbps X 150 clients = 45,000kbps.

That would be 45mbps up and 45mbps down, and that doesn't include the other half of your users. You can do this with a T-3 connection. a T3 connection averages $3000.00 per month in the United States. You would probably need more than this, because that doesn't include the other half of your users.

---but---

If only 10% of your skype users are on skype at a time, and 30% of your other users are just browsing the internet... that would be
more like 10mbps. That would be considerably less expensive.


So, as you can see, your question depends on how many people are using the internet at the same time, and what they are doing.
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1889
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:57 am

hi all
I have about 300 clients. this week most called me becouse Internet was very slow.
how much bandwidth do I need to satisfy them? half of them use skype

any help
You could increase your bandwidth by 300% but this not wise unless you first plan each move carefully.
How much bandwidth do you currently have?
Have you got a fair usage policy, how much bandwidth limits does each customer have and is there any bandwidth shaping being used.
You need to analyse your network logs for each AP and ask has the high usage users got more than one computer connected, then plan to sell a higher price package to these customers who generally will either reduce their usage or pay more,
Downloading of torrent files if a problem then take action to reduce this,
What I have discovered is that some customers did not realise that streaming a movie was the same as downloading a file?
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
rodolfo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 543
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:50 am

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:35 am

30 mbit with good queue tree management
rodolfo
IZ0UQV
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46 am

30 mbit with good queue tree management
How is 30mbps going to work if he actually has 150 people using Skype and he received more than 150 complaints in 1 week?

Maybe he exaggerated in the number of skype users, and the number of complaints... but the OP hasn't asnwered any questions yet for you to make an absolute "you need 30mb" comment.
 
rini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:28 am

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 2:48 am

30 mbit with good queue tree management
How is 30mbps going to work if he actually has 150 people using Skype and he received more than 150 complaints in 1 week?

Maybe he exaggerated in the number of skype users, and the number of complaints... but the OP hasn't asnwered any questions yet for you to make an absolute "you need 30mb" comment.

Thanks for the replies. I really have 120-150 customers at the same time who use SKYPE.
my speed for the moment is 50mb down and 10mb up (i pay $2000 for this).
i think i dont have good queue management.
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:08 am


Thanks for the replies. I really have 120-150 customers at the same time who use SKYPE.
my speed for the moment is 50mb down and 10mb up (i pay $2000 for this).
i think i dont have good queue management.

Do the math:

150 skype video users X 300kbps = 45mb UP AND DOWN

You don't have enough UP bandwidth... not even close.
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:12 am

In Sweden, internet is cheap so we have 2 100/100 connections and pay about 800euros for them.
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1889
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 11:39 am

Thanks for the replies. I really have 120-150 customers at the same time who use SKYPE.
my speed for the moment is 50mb down and 10mb up (i pay $2000 for this).
i think i dont have good queue management.
With 50Mb and 150 customers that is only a 3 to 1 contention ratio which is more than adequate for clients and if they are complaining about the service being slow maybe you have network configuration issues and not internet access issue?
If there is no customer bandwidth limits being used, then it’s time to consider using or pay more for unnecessary extra bandwidth.
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 2:57 pm

ONL
With 50Mb and 150 customers that is only a 3 to 1 contention ratio which is more than adequate for clients and if they are complaining about the service being slow maybe you have network configuration issues and not internet access issue?
If there is no customer bandwidth limits being used, then it’s time to consider using or pay more for unnecessary extra bandwidth.

You obviously don't understand the importance of upload speed. He only has 10 mb up. How is that more than adequate for 150 skype users??? Skype uses an equal amount of upload and download.

There is no magic configuration that can fix that!
 
rini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:28 am

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 5:49 pm

hi all
I have about 300 clients. this week most called me becouse Internet was very slow.
how much bandwidth do I need to satisfy them? half of them use skype

any help

My first question is up here.
i dont have problem with my network. everything is fine. i have problem with bandwidth.
i know that the problem is upload. simetric lines here are to expensive 1M/1M is 30EUR (this price 150km distance from my home and i have to pay extra for the fiber optic i rent)
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1889
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 6:08 pm

ONL
With 50Mb and 150 customers that is only a 3 to 1 contention ratio which is more than adequate for clients and if they are complaining about the service being slow maybe you have network configuration issues and not internet access issue?
If there is no customer bandwidth limits being used, then it’s time to consider using or pay more for unnecessary extra bandwidth.

You obviously don't understand the importance of upload speed. He only has 10 mb up. How is that more than adequate for 150 skype users??? Skype uses an equal amount of upload and download.

There is no magic configuration that can fix that!
Sorry my mistake about upload speed, I should have pointed out 50Mb is OK for downloading @ 3 to 1 contention but have you ever seen a network which has 100% of customers using just one application (Skype) simultaneously, I don’t think Skype is the real problem here but part of, there could be torrent files uploading, etc. and if bandwidth limits for customers is not in place they could simply be using 100% of the upload bandwidth 24/7 and choking the network, network traffic needs to be analysed, pinpoint users who have a very high usage, adding extra upload bandwidth will help but without bandwidth limits and fair usage policy for customers, the problem will occur again?
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 6:18 pm

but have you ever seen a network which has 100% of customers using just one application (Skype) simultaneously
He specifically said:
I really have 120-150 customers at the same time who use SKYPE.

According to the Skype website:
Recommended upload / download speed: 300kbps / 300kbps for standard video quality, each user

150 skype video users X 300kbps = 45mbps UP AND DOWN
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1889
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 6:44 pm

but have you ever seen a network which has 100% of customers using just one application (Skype) simultaneously
He specifically said:
I really have 120-150 customers at the same time who use SKYPE.

According to the Skype website:
Recommended upload / download speed: 300kbps / 300kbps for standard video quality, each user

150 skype video users X 300kbps = 45mbps UP AND DOWN
That is a lot who Skype
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
readycool
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:25 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 9:03 pm

Thanks for the replies. I really have 120-150 customers at the same time who use SKYPE.
my speed for the moment is 50mb down and 10mb up.
Unlikely that from 300 users you have, half of them use Skype at the same time.

50mb down should be enough, upload is small.
Most IP networks are designed for users to download more than they upload, usually with an expected (Download:Upload) ratio of 3:1 or more. You have 5:1.

I would say that 10% of 300 customers spending 2mb is 60mb/20mb would be enough.
If you want better you can use 15%: 90/30.
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 9:19 pm


Unlikely that from 300 users you have, half of them use Skype at the same time.

50mb down should be enough, upload is small.
Most IP networks are designed for users to download more than they upload, usually with an expected (Download:Upload) ratio of 3:1 or more. You have 5:1.

I would say that 10% of 300 customers spending 2mb is 60mb/20mb would be enough.
If you want better you can use 15%: 90/30.
You are being unrealistic. Skype is EQUAL upload and download. If each skpye video call is 300kpbs UPLOAD, then 30 skype users will saturate the 10mb upload... and that is assuming that no one else is using the internet. That's no where near 150 users.

Have you seen this person's network? If not, how do you know that he is incorrect when he confirms the number of active skype users? In some parts of the world, Skype is the #1 communications method.
 
readycool
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:25 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:30 pm

You are being unrealistic. Skype is EQUAL upload and download. If each skpye video call is 300kpbs UPLOAD, then 30 skype users will saturate the 10mb upload... and that is assuming that no one else is using the internet. That's no where near 150 users.

Have you seen this person's network? If not, how do you know that he is incorrect when he confirms the number of active skype users? In some parts of the world, Skype is the #1 communications method.
Yes, Skype is equal. But you also mentioned that "and that is assuming that no one else is using the internet".
So there are internet users, and in such networks common ratio is 3:1. Sometimes you have skype users, sometime torrent users etc that all have equal bandwith. In such cases you can use other ratio. But 5:1 is too low.

Also I didn't said it's incorrect. I said it's unlikely that from 300 users 150 use it at the same time. Not that's impossible.
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1889
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Fri Nov 02, 2012 10:55 am


You are being unrealistic. Skype is EQUAL upload and download. If each skpye video call is 300kpbs UPLOAD, then 30 skype users will saturate the 10mb upload... and that is assuming that no one else is using the internet. That's no where near 150 users.

Have you seen this person's network? If not, how do you know that he is incorrect when he confirms the number of active skype users? In some parts of the world, Skype is the #1 communications method.
To further complicate the calculations, it it not stated how many are using Skype for video and how many are using it for phone calls, you are assuming they are all using it for video.
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:23 pm

To further complicate the calculations, it it not stated how many are using Skype for video and how many are using it for phone calls, you are assuming they are all using it for video.
It doesn't really complicate it that much. If 1/3 of the skype users are on voice-only, and 1/3 are on standard video, and 1/3 are on high-quality video, it still averages out to almost the exact numbers as if they were all on standard-video.
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1889
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:10 pm

To further complicate the calculations, it it not stated how many are using Skype for video and how many are using it for phone calls, you are assuming they are all using it for video.
It doesn't really complicate it that much. If 1/3 of the skype users are on voice-only, and 1/3 are on standard video, and 1/3 are on high-quality video, it still averages out to almost the exact numbers as if they were all on standard-video.
It would very interesting to view a screenshot of the 120-150 Skype users online simultaneously.
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
zelan
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 1:10 am

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Sun Nov 04, 2012 12:18 am

Do you have any graphing of data throughput when your customers are complaining, post it on here and it would make it a lot easier to give you the right advice

Mark
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:12 am

I can give you one exsample from our system:

Today one of my customer have sold:

down 596 mbit (linje 100 mbit, 596% booking)
up 591 mbit (linje 100 mbit, 591% booking)


Look at picture for actual usage:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:33 am

I can give you one exsample from our system:

Today one of my customer have sold:

down 596 mbit (linje 100 mbit, 596% booking)
up 591 mbit (linje 100 mbit, 591% booking)


Look at picture for actual usage:
samsung172, do you have a question? You should start a new thread with your question. This thread is specifically for "rini" and his problem. Your picture doesn't have anything to do with his question.
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Sun Nov 04, 2012 9:16 am

Well, this was a reply, to "how much" bandwidth do i need. This was an exsample. HÆow much bandwith do i neeed, depends on how much do all customer wants. I doubt, that its 300 customer, having 150 skype calls at the same time. half of em having skype. I will assume, that then all of em also have internet.

The Q was not, how much bandwitdh do i need for 150 skype calls. Or 300 Skype calls.

When the Q is, how much do i need, you need to know a bit more about customer dependences. In my answer, there is no qwuestions, just a. This is how it might be for someone else.

Sold : about 600Mb/s , actual use, nevere peeked above 80Mb/s, but around 20-40Mb/s
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1889
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Sun Nov 04, 2012 8:40 pm

Well, this was a reply, to "how much" bandwidth do i need. This was an exsample. HÆow much bandwith do i neeed, depends on how much do all customer wants. I doubt, that its 300 customer, having 150 skype calls at the same time. half of em having skype. I will assume, that then all of em also have internet.

The Q was not, how much bandwitdh do i need for 150 skype calls. Or 300 Skype calls.

When the Q is, how much do i need, you need to know a bit more about customer dependences. In my answer, there is no qwuestions, just a. This is how it might be for someone else.

Sold : about 600Mb/s , actual use, nevere peeked above 80Mb/s, but around 20-40Mb/s
How many customers for 600Mb/s, unless bandwidth is very cheap should you have a 100Mb/s?
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
jandafields
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:12 pm

Re: how much bandwidth do i need for 300 clients ?

Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:51 pm

Sold : about 600Mb/s , actual use, nevere peeked above 80Mb/s, but around 20-40Mb/s

Who would buy 600mbps if their actual use never peaked above 80mbps ??????????????

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 96 guests