Community discussions

 
bowgey
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:34 pm

[solved] L2TP/IPSec client to site configuration

Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:38 am

sorry for that silly question and my bad grammar, i have tried to configure L2TP with IPSec on this topology but i still can't activate the IPSec on the router. the L2TP tunnel is worked properly, but when i add an IPSec, the tunnel still worked with no IPSec running.

i use this configuration on gateway router

/ip ipsec proposal
set [ find default=yes ] enc-algorithms=3des,aes-128,aes-192,aes-256
/ip ipsec peer
add generate-policy=yes hash-algorithm=sha1 nat-traversal=yes secret=test123456 send-initial-contact=no

i use RouterOS v4.3
my client is windows 7 home premium

what should i do next?
thank you.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by bowgey on Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: [ask] L2TP/IPSec client to site configuration

Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:11 am

i use RouterOS v4.3 ... what should i do next?
Upgrade to ROS 5.x.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
bowgey
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:34 pm

Re: [ask] L2TP/IPSec client to site configuration

Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:37 pm

i use RouterOS v4.3 ... what should i do next?
Upgrade to ROS 5.x.
is it necessary? because I don't have any privilege to do that...
so, it would be a dead end, is it? :(
 
bowgey
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:34 pm

Re: [ask] L2TP/IPSec client to site configuration

Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:23 am

i use RouterOS v4.3 ... what should i do next?
Upgrade to ROS 5.x.
is it necessary? because i don't have privilege to do that. :(
 
bowgey
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:34 pm

Re: [ask] L2TP/IPSec client to site configuration

Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:01 am

is it necessary? because i don't have any privilege to do that. :(
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: [ask] L2TP/IPSec client to site configuration

Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm

is it necessary? because i don't have any privilege to do that. :(
4.3 is incredibly old. Assuming that you have read the wiki section on IPSec and have set your configuration correctly, then this would be my first course of action.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5942
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: [ask] L2TP/IPSec client to site configuration

Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:24 pm

If client is windows PC then you need to set exchange mode to main-l2tp which is available starting from v5.4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 123 guests