Community discussions

 
planetcaravan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:33 pm

Problem with hotspot over eoip

Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:31 pm

Hi there,

I'm using RouterOS 5.22 to serve a little hotspot network on an RB751G-2HnD.
All my WiFi AP are connected to the RB751G-2HnD via EoIP tunnel. I've noticed that enabling hotspot on RB751G-2HnD all stations connected to the APs can't take an IP from RB751G-2HnD. As I shutdown the hotspot service, all is working fine: client take an IP from RB751G-2HnD.

Is there any Layer2 problem or any other problem?

Thanks
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Problem with hotspot over eoip

Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:47 am

eoip is unstable sometimes. Is it possible to try l2tp. or better, VPLS?
 
rodolfo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 543
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:50 am

Re: Problem with hotspot over eoip

Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:18 pm

please give more details: what do you bridge, and draw a little diagram
rodolfo
IZ0UQV
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Problem with hotspot over eoip

Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:38 pm

Hmmm. diagram? Its like eoip, just not eoip :D You'll bridge the same Interfaces. Try to put a l2tp, and have the profile set to default bridge -- Your bridge -- at both sides.
 
planetcaravan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Problem with hotspot over eoip

Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:39 pm

Hi there,

Thanks for all your answers!

I've attacched a network diagram. It's a simple network.
From NAS I can ping EoIP tunnel con AP 1.

I can turn it all on L2TP.
1) Shall I have to set NAS as a L2TP server and WiFi interfaces on AP2 as L2TP client?
2) Shall I set L2TP interfaces on NAS as hotspot interfaces?
3) Can I isolate L2 broadcast within theese new tunnels?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Problem with hotspot over eoip

Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:48 pm

In this simple setup, just use wds between AP 1 and two.


HotspostGW- Radio1 (wds) - Radio2 - Radio 3.

Eg:

HotspotGW ether3 as hotspot Interface. Connect this to Radio1.

Then make a bridge at radio1 and put ether1 to bridge. Set AP as AP-bridge, and wds-mode to dynamic. Default bridge - bridge (dont put wlan Interface, just ether1 and wds interface)

Put radio2 as station-wds, and make a bridge. put wlan Interface and Ethernet to bridge.

Radio3, create new bridge, and put Ethernet and wlan Interface to bridge.
 
planetcaravan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Problem with hotspot over eoip

Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:03 pm

Wich configuration I have to use if I choose L2TP?
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Problem with hotspot over eoip

Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:11 am

well. it should be some kind of routed setup. With l2tp to make a tunnel.
 
planetcaravan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Problem with hotspot over eoip

Mon Dec 03, 2012 4:08 pm

What about VLANs?
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Problem with hotspot over eoip

Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:49 pm

If you have a l2, that would work. but for what use? Why not stright l2?
 
planetcaravan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Problem with hotspot over eoip

Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:52 pm

I want to use VLAN instead of routing, L2TP or WDS.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 102 guests