Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
azurtem
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Nice, France
Contact:

DHCP relay

Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:51 pm

Hi

I noticed something, that to me seems unusual

I setup in one subnet a DHCP server on an RB device
in another, interconnected, subnet I setup a DHCP relay on second RB device

All works well when I indicate the address of the DHCP relay
in the DHCP server's configuration settings

If I remove the address of the DHCP relay from the DHCP server's
configuration settings, then the relaying doesn't work anymore

Surely one should be able to relay DHCP broadcasts, regardless
of whether the DHCP server is aware of it or not, no ?

thanks

yann
 
tws101
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:25 pm

Re: DHCP relay

Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:51 pm

If you are relaying from another subnet NO. You need to make the server aware.
 
User avatar
azurtem
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Nice, France
Contact:

Re: DHCP relay

Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:58 am

Ok, thanks tws101

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DL7JP, wtechlink and 58 guests