Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
van
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Serbia

loosing connection to the ISP

Mon Feb 13, 2006 5:00 pm

hello

I have local wireless network connected to internet
I am using Mikrotik 2.8.26, Prism 2 card in ap-bridge mode (200mW) and Atheros 5213 card for link to the ISP
I have a problem:
during loading in local (playing games etc.) I am loosing connection to the ISP

I believe that the problem lies in Mikrotik settings

wlan1(local) ip 192.168.100.1/24
wlan2(ISP) ip 10.5.51.214/24

routing settings:

ip routes gateway 10.5.51.1
ip dns static 10.5.51.1
ip firewall source nat masquerade 198.168.100.0/24

I have adjusted hotspot,which is functioning well

I am so sorry for bothering you, but I am still a beginner in this field
Looking forward to your answer
Last edited by van on Mon Feb 13, 2006 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Mon Feb 13, 2006 5:20 pm

Is your local hotspot Prism 2 card on a different channel to that of ther ISP link? it should be eg:

ISP Chan 1, Hotspot Chan 6
ISP Chan 1, Hotspot Chan 11
ISP Chan 6, Hotspot Chan 1
ISP Chan 6, Hotspot Chan 11

etc
 
van
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Serbia

Mon Feb 13, 2006 5:24 pm

isp chan 3, local (prism2) chan 7
 
User avatar
raulborda
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:57 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: loosing connection to the ISP

Mon Feb 13, 2006 5:54 pm

hello

I have local wireless network connected to internet
I am using Mikrotik 2.8.26, Prism 2 card in ap-bridge mode (200mW) and Atheros 5213 card for link to the ISP
I have a problem:
during loading in local (playing games etc.) I am loosing connection to the ISP

I believe that the problem lies in Mikrotik settings

wlan1(local) ip 192.168.100.1/24
wlan2(ISP) ip 10.5.51.214/24

routing settings:

ip routes gateway 10.5.51.214
ip dns static 10.5.51.214
ip firewall source nat masquerade 198.168.100.0/24

I have adjusted hotspot,which is functioning well

I am so sorry for bothering you, but I am still a beginner in this field
Looking forward to your answer
Your gw IP is the same that IP in wlan2???.
.....
When you lose connection, try to test the link with ping or traceroute to any IP in internet.
 
van
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: loosing connection to the ISP

Mon Feb 13, 2006 6:01 pm

:oops:
ip routes gateway 10.5.51.214
ip dns static 10.5.51.214


sorry my mistake
ip routes gateway 10.5.51.1
ip dns static 10.5.51.1
 
User avatar
raulborda
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:57 pm
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: loosing connection to the ISP

Mon Feb 13, 2006 6:05 pm

:oops:
ip routes gateway 10.5.51.214
ip dns static 10.5.51.214


sorry my mistake
ip routes gateway 10.5.51.1
ip dns static 10.5.51.1
It's ok...
Test ping & trace when you lose connection & paste results...
tks.
Raul
 
van
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Serbia

Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:09 pm

mtik log:

22:35:28 wlan2: 00:0f:ea:ed:df:b8 connected
22:35:32 wlan2: 00:0f:ea:ed:df:b8 disconnected
22:35:47 wlan2: 00:0f:ea:ed:df:b8 connected
22:35:52 wlan2: 00:0f:ea:ed:df:b8 disconnected
22:36:02 wlan2: 00:0f:ea:ed:df:b8 connected
22:36:05 wlan2: 00:0f:ea:ed:df:b8 disconnected
22:36:11 wlan2: 00:0f:ea:ed:df:b8 connected

ping 10.5.51.1

request time out
request time out
request time out
request time out

simply atheros losing connection, but this hapend only during loading (forcing) in local (playing games like cs, cod..., etc.)
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:34 pm

Which wireless channels are you using?

What signal levels do you have?
 
van
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Serbia

Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:43 pm

for isp connection channel 3, tx/rx rate: 11 mbps, tx/rx signal streigth: -71/-64 dbm

ap (prism card) channel 7
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:52 pm

The channels being used looks OK to me.

Are you able to play games etc or download a large file from the ISP/Internet using a wired connection to the MikroTik without disconnection from the ISP?

Sorry for all these questions I'm trying to eliminate possible problems one at a time.
 
van
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Serbia

Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:26 pm

i am able,and the download goes fine,using wired
connection,and wireless from the ISP over Mikrotik,until I load Prism 2 card,
and then Atheros card simply loose connection (it looks like that the ISP dont
even exist!)and it look for it for a short time,then make connection for a
while,than loose again....and all that again and again during forcing in the local
i doubt that some packages are going throuhg from the local to the ISP and
roam ,or somethimg like that...
 
van
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Serbia

Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:50 pm

anybody, plz :(
 
van
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Serbia

Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:50 pm

anybody, plz
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:21 pm

I have had exactly the same problem due to interference from an access point based on the Prism 2 chipset. I moved the access point to another location and that solved my problem. The only advice I can give you based on the information I have so far is to attach an external antenna to the Atheros based wireless card and place it as far as you can from the Prism 2 cards antenna.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 122 guests