Page 1 of 1

Dual Wan, one for VOIP only

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:01 pm
by econst
Hi all,

I'd like to set up a router for Dual WAN access, and have all VOIP traffic go out a specific WAN. I read that I probably need to do some Firewall Mangle to mark the packets. Is this correct? Is it possible to route by domain name instead of IP address? For example, I'd like to send all Skype trafic to a specified WAN, but Skype has several IP addresses assigned to it. How can this be done? Pls advise. TIA

Re: Dual Wan, one for VOIP only

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 4:35 pm
by econst
Is this even possible, ie, can this be done?

Re: Dual Wan, one for VOIP only

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 6:43 pm
by tomaskir
You need to set-up correct mangle and routing tables for dual WAN first.
After that do policy routing for some stuff to go wan1 and some other stuff go wan2.

As for based on domain name, the only way is to use an address-list which gets updated by a script. Schedule the script to run every 5 min or something, and it can work.

Watch the presentation in my sig for how to set up dual WAN. It goes into load-balancing too, just dont do that part.