Community discussions

 
Lakis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:52 pm

How does Ruterbord -Bridge RSTP- decide which is root port?

Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:52 am

I have a small problem hire
On my board is created Bridge1 and RSTP enabled (433Ah+R52Hn ether1,2,3+wlan1 in bridge1)
as I can see bridge1 is always selecting wlan1 role as root port - its like whatever I do
but when disconnect/reconnect occurs on wlan I m losing contact or ping with the board for 2 sec

when protocol mode is set to none I don't have this kind of problem
Is there a way I can manual select interface role as root port like ether1,ether2.. or whatever just I don't want some of my wireless interfaces to be as root port

Or let me be clear - How does ROuterBoard decide which of the interfaces will have a role as root port?
it must be simple
Many Thanks.
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: How does Ruterbord -Bridge RSTP- decide which is root po

Tue Feb 05, 2013 4:07 am

root path cost.
 
Lakis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:52 pm

Re: How does Ruterbord -Bridge RSTP- decide which is root po

Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:29 am

Thank you samsung172 but sorry I couldn't understand u what I have to do
I find this post it has a good info about that
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=9684


This is my case
bridgerp.png
Now how can I change my interface role as root port?
Thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Lakis on Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: How does Ruterbord -Bridge RSTP- decide which is root po

Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:35 am

Set an admin-mac on the bridge.

If you don't set an admin-mac then the bridge uses the lowest mac address of its members, which means that the bridge reconfigures every time a wireless client connects/disconnects.

Nick
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
Lakis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:52 pm

Re: How does Ruterbord -Bridge RSTP- decide which is root po

Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:57 am

Many Thanks nickshore
"bridge uses the lowest mac address of its members, which means that the bridge reconfigures every time a wireless client connects/disconnects."
Nick
this is exactly what is going on

I will check this out later, I need some reading before changing
I will back to u with replay
 
CelticComms
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 5:48 am

Re: How does Ruterbord -Bridge RSTP- decide which is root po

Tue Feb 05, 2013 3:34 pm

Or let me be clear - How does ROuterBoard decide which of the interfaces will have a role as root port?
The root port is that bridge's lowest cost path to the designated root bridge. See below:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spanning_Tree_Protocol
Interlynx | Networking and Information Security Consultants & Trainers | Email: routerlynx@gmail.com
BGP | EIGRP | OSPF | MPLS | Firewall | VPN | IPsec | Multicast | QOS | IPv4/6 | STP | VLAN | PON | AE | M2M | and more!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 137 guests