Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
cmarazzi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:12 pm

OSPF MESH NETWORK

Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:16 am

Would it be reasonable to think that 15 RB532A and 2 Pentium can be configured in a MESH type network using OSPF and be reliable. Where the 2 pentium are the gateway to the outside and BGP is been used against some CISCOs.

The 15 RB532A will be doing PPPoE at remote locations.

Thanks
 
User avatar
mag
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Contact:

Re: OSPF MESH NETWORK

Tue Feb 28, 2006 11:11 am

AFAIK this will not create a real mesh-wlan-network like the OSLR-based ones. But if there are redundant links it should be working though.
 
cmarazzi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:12 pm

Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:25 pm

Mag,

the MESH I would like to create is not wireless. Reach of the Routers is siting on a diferent building and providing PPPoE service to wired DSL type customers. The Router are connected to multiple other routers via a Wireless loop or Wired loop depending on the situation. The Wireless loop are seperate equipment that provide a etherne bridge.

I connected together 8 RB532 and trun OSPF on all of these at my lab. and connected one to the Internet. OSPF is unable to calculate adequate path to all the routers and default route is not been propagated at all. I have tried this with version 2.9.12.

Does anyone know is this can be done reliably. I will keep working on its configuration if it is doable. I have done this many times with CISCO equipment, and it works fine. But not quite yet wirh Mikrotik. Any help would be appresiated.

-Carlo
 
cmarazzi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:12 pm

Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:12 pm

I am now convinces that 2.9.12 routing via OSPF is also broken. I will try 2.9.11 to see if the basic features of OSPF work in that version.

Does anyone know of an old version that works?

thanks
 
User avatar
mag
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Contact:

Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:09 pm

puh, it was back in 2.8.x times when i last did OSPF with MT.
Will have to do soon again...
 
cmarazzi
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:12 pm

Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:36 am

Maybe 2.9.15 will will solve the problems.

I tried 2.9.11 to 2.9.14 and the best was 2.9.12, but not grate. Particularly the BGP implementation. It is buggy.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: WN1X, zwarner and 88 guests