Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
kleber
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 12:15 am

Mikrotik reboot varies times to the day

Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:48 pm

Mikrotik restarts varies times to the day .

How to know what it is?
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Wed Mar 01, 2006 6:23 pm

is there anything in the log? is this a PC or routerboard? are you using Watchdog?

We need more info to be able to help
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Wed Mar 01, 2006 6:45 pm

See what's written in the log and paste it here and as HarvSki said is it RB or PC...
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:50 pm

my core router started to hung up after upgrading to 2.9.14

Giving the fact that it is a pc based, I am not able to reboot it automatcly by watchdog.

I downgraded back to 2.9.11 but still have some time each 2-3days this issue. Before to upgrade from 2.9.11 to 2.9.14 the router was rock solid for more then 40days.

Very difficult to debug because I am not getting naything into the log.....just freezingup

Regards
rosario
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Sun Mar 05, 2006 8:37 pm

:( one of my routers reboot too, in the log i can only see:

mar/04/2006 18:34:39 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown
mar/04/2006 18:37:33 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown
mar/04/2006 18:43:49 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown
mar/05/2006 10:22:55 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown
mar/05/2006 10:25:14 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown
mar/05/2006 10:27:42 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown
mar/05/2006 10:45:15 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown
mar/05/2006 10:48:50 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown

It´s a PC based router with 2.9.14


Regards
José Ignacio Acosta
MikroTik Consultant IDAR0001
Mikronet

Movile: +54 9 3472-624722
Email/Msn: info[at]mikronet.com.ar
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:03 am

We just had a prod router reboot today after 90 days uptime as well.. 2.9.6. I wonder if there are some weird BGP flaps that aren't liked, are you both running bgp as well?

mar/05/2006 15:31:50 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown
mar/05/2006 15:34:25 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown
mar/05/2006 15:39:42 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown

Sam
 
mperdue
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 8:18 pm

Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:07 pm

If you can completly turn off watchdog and see if it still reboots. One time we upgraded the ip address in watchdog got changed to 0.0.0.0 and that caused the router to reboot alot for us.

Also if the ip your watching is your wireless link the link may be getting some interfearance which is causing it to reset.
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:12 pm

If you can completly turn off watchdog and see if it still reboots. One time we upgraded the ip address in watchdog got changed to 0.0.0.0 and that caused the router to reboot alot for us.

Also if the ip your watching is your wireless link the link may be getting some interfearance which is causing it to reset.
We do not use watchdog...

@Changeip

No BGP...


Regards
José Ignacio Acosta
MikroTik Consultant IDAR0001
Mikronet

Movile: +54 9 3472-624722
Email/Msn: info[at]mikronet.com.ar
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:20 pm

If you can completly turn off watchdog and see if it still reboots. One time we upgraded the ip address in watchdog got changed to 0.0.0.0 and that caused the router to reboot alot for us.

Also if the ip your watching is your wireless link the link may be getting some interfearance which is causing it to reset.
This particular box was a supermicro, not able to use watchdog.

Sam
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:25 pm

The part with the 0.0.0.0 ip address was directed to the "ping watchdog", where the system reboots when it cannot reach the configured IP address anymore.

We had this bite us, too, in some occasions (like automatically switching to a backup uplink over which the "netwatched" ip address was not reachable. Made the whole fuss for automatic uplink switching useless, as while on the backup line the router rebooted continually... :D ).

Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
cmarazzi
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:12 pm

Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:40 pm

I am not sure if the problem you are having is the sme as mine, but Quake3 crashes my RB532s

-Carlo
 
Gotmoh
newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:56 am

Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:08 pm

I had broken one memory module at my mikrotik (2x512 MB DIMM). It was reboot few times a week, sometimes two-three times a day.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:13 pm

I validated that a specific type of malformed packet would cause mikrotik to reboot under a load, but not sure this is what's causing it. I have sent mikrotik results of this a few months back but never heard that it was fixed. I will test it again and see if its still an issue - possibly these packets are more in the wild now and hitting the router and rebooting them ... that would be bad : )

Sam
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:58 am

I validated that a specific type of malformed packet would cause mikrotik to reboot under a load, but not sure this is what's causing it. I have sent mikrotik results of this a few months back but never heard that it was fixed. I will test it again and see if its still an issue - possibly these packets are more in the wild now and hitting the router and rebooting them ... that would be bad : )

Sam
could you resend that email to support@mikrotik.com so we could check again?
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:28 pm

sent...

I will test this again in 2.9.14 and see what happens. Previously this was an issue when 2.9.7 was current but I am guessing its the same. I will followup later today after I resetup our dev environment.

Sam
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Tue Mar 07, 2006 9:13 pm

Well, it hapends to me on two PCs.
One was rebooting without proper shutdown because it was to cold for him, I placed blanket over and everything is fine - I hope I'll not forget to take it out when warm weather comes :D
Other one had Power supply problem, I just changed it and this one is ok also.
In 99% of situations it's hardware problem...

Cheers...
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:06 pm

I validated that a specific type of malformed packet would cause mikrotik to reboot under a load, but not sure this is what's causing it. I have sent mikrotik results of this a few months back but never heard that it was fixed. I will test it again and see if its still an issue - possibly these packets are more in the wild now and hitting the router and rebooting them ... that would be bad : )

Sam
Just a followup - this malformed packet (biffit) does not cause MT to reboot anymore. I tested with 2.9.17 and it seems to be working as it should.

Thx,
Sam
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:13 pm

Does the watchdog reboot the unit without proper shutdown?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: barracuda, Bing [Bot], EdPa, lambert, Tuktron and 147 guests