Community discussions

 
49er
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:55 am

Routing with 2 routers and than INTERNET

Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:06 pm

Hi,

I have 2 routers.
One security router with IPS and so.
Than an Mikrotik RB-951G 2HnD (for wifi and hotspot
See my drawing.
On the Mikrotik I have to set the routings but I can't get it working
What routings do I have to add?
On the security router I add 2 manual routings
Source Destination Gateway Metric
any 192.9.10.0/24 192.168.1.1 1
any 192.9.20.0/24 192.168.1.1 1
any 192.9.201.0/24 192.168.1.1 1
2_routers.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
CelticComms
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 5:48 am

Re: Routing with 2 routers and than INTERNET

Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:41 am

You probably want a default route ( to 0.0.0.0/0) from the Mikrotik to the outer router. Are these 192.9.x.x addresses public IPs allocated to you?
Interlynx | Networking and Information Security Consultants & Trainers | Email: routerlynx@gmail.com
BGP | EIGRP | OSPF | MPLS | Firewall | VPN | IPsec | Multicast | QOS | IPv4/6 | STP | VLAN | PON | AE | M2M | and more!

 
49er
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:55 am

Re: Routing with 2 routers and than INTERNET

Sat Apr 06, 2013 10:42 am

Sorry, I don't know what you mean.

The 192.9.x.x addresses are internal addresses.
Used for LAN.
The 80.101.110.68 is The address I got from my ISP
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: Routing with 2 routers and than INTERNET

Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:22 pm

192.9.x.x is not an internal address range and should be not used as such, but you are free to do whatever you like if you keep it behind NAT. You are likely not NATig that range and that is why your system is not working.
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Routing with 2 routers and than INTERNET

Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:48 pm

I recommend changing those localnets to
192.168.10.1/24
192.168.20.1/24
192.168.201.1/24
and routing those subnets to MK1 in your security router.

Insure router MK1 has no srcnats or masquerades, and a default route like this
/ip route
add gateway=192.168.1.254
 
49er
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:55 am

Re: Routing with 2 routers and than INTERNET

Sun Apr 07, 2013 2:47 pm

I recommend changing those localnets to
192.168.10.1/24
192.168.20.1/24
192.168.201.1/24
and routing those subnets to MK1 in your security router.

Insure router MK1 has no srcnats or masquerades, and a default route like this
/ip route
add gateway=192.168.1.254

Hi Thanks for your reply.
Now with my old adresses it is working but I can not reach all interent sites.
Some sites are not working.
Is this because the addresses I use?
I will change it in your suggestions.
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: Routing with 2 routers and than INTERNET

Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:05 pm

You are using a public network space as a internal network. So that address range of the Internet is not reachable by you, but I think it is not the case here. You should post your config.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 39 guests