Community discussions

 
wtm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 5:27 am

Setting up full /25 of public IP's on Network

Tue Apr 30, 2013 7:19 am

I was given a full /25 set of public Ip's from my backhaul provider. Normally I know how to program a router to use a SNAT and DNAT for a single Ip to Private IP's for the end users, but I can't seem to get the programming on this one to provide the FULL /25 Public Ip subset onto the LAN side of the router to use in our internal network ?

Back haul provider supplied 66.x.x.154 to my router. Their gateway is 66.xx.xx.153 This is a /30
My Public Subset is 206.xx.xx.128/25

thanks,
Wayne
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: Setting up full /25 of public IP's on Network

Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:00 pm

Put the 66.x.x.154/30 on your WAN interface

Set the default route to 66.xx.xx.153

Put 206.xx.xx.129/25 on your LAN interface

Disable your NAT rules.

Use the rest of the /25 on your devices in your LAN, (by DHCP if you like) and give them a default route of 206.xx.xx.129


Hope that helps

Nick.
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
wtm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 5:27 am

Re: Setting up full /25 of public IP's on Network

Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:30 pm

Do I need to do any forwarding rules on this?

Remotely I can ping an address of a device on the LAN OK now using the /25 subset, but unable to access it by http port(80).

There isn't any firewall rules in place, (that I can find), so I do not see why I can't access the device remotely.

I am able to access the router fine. And if I insert my laptop onto the LAN network, I can http the local device fine, so it has to be the router is not allowing the http through it somehow.

The laptop is able to access the outside internet from inside the LAN, so all looks well in that direction.

Thanks,
Wayne
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: Setting up full /25 of public IP's on Network

Wed May 01, 2013 6:59 pm

You should check in ip firewall filter for rules in the forward chain

You should also check to make sure the device you are trying to access has the correct default route set.


Nick
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
wtm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 5:27 am

Re: Setting up full /25 of public IP's on Network

Wed May 01, 2013 8:00 pm

Well, it is working fine !!!

Thank you very much !!!!!

Doesn't need the firewall rules, yet (ha ha) !

The one device seems to have it's own problem, as everything else is working fine on the network.

Again, Thank you,
Wayne

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 110 guests