Community discussions

MikroTik App

qamarsultan
just joined
Topic Author

PPPoE having problem with Layer 2 Switches?

Tue May 07, 2013 9:48 pm

Hello everyone !

We recently upgraded our network from unmanaged switches to Dlink-3526 managed switches. Before that there were about 20 unmanaged TP-Link switches in our network. Till that time MT pppoe was working great but from the day we changed the switches we are having problem that our client get connected properly but they don't have Internet Access.
I am new with managed switches and the purpose of the switches was just to get control over the unused ports. All the switches are in default company settings, mean that all the ports are under one vlan.

Let me tell you that at the NOC side we used Dlink-3100-24TG switch that is having 16 Fiber ports and 8 copper ports. Every far-end switch is directly connected with 3100 switch over optical fiber.

If anybody knows about the Dlink switches settings required, like under port configuration there are various options such as TRAP etc etc may be any of the option from these list needs to be enabled or disabled to pass the proper bandwidth. Even sometimes I am not able to ping the switch, whereas its gateway IP is already added in Mikrotik.

CelticComms
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: PPPoE having problem with Layer 2 Switches?

Tue May 07, 2013 11:09 pm

Have you used Torch or Packet Sniffer on the interfaces to see what traffic is flowing?

solelunauno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:24 pm

Hallo! I noticed the same trouble trying to get pppoe connection over a vlan established over a managed switch.
In my configuration, I have this:
|PPPoE server over vlan1 (Mikrotik RB493)| ----> |layer 2 WDS wireless bridge| ----> |managed switch (Mikrotik RB750UP ports 2-5 in switch mode)| ----> |PPPoE client over vlan1 (Mikrotik RB750UP)| ;