Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
spirry
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 3:43 pm

QinQ dot1q tunnel?

Fri May 31, 2013 11:41 pm

Hi,

I have a RB951G-2HnD.

The RB951 is connected to a Cisco 3750 just via regular trunks, I then want 1 of the ports on the RB to act as a dot1tunnel, ignoring every CVLAN, just outer tagging them.

The diagram would look something like
3750 --- RB951 --- X

And I want every VLAN coming in from X to be outer tagged with whatever VLAN of my choosing, so a dot1q-tunnel!

Is this possible?
Is there a equivalent to Ciscos dot1tunnel with mikrotik?
Could someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance!
 
User avatar
tomaskir
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: QinQ dot1q tunnel?

Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:58 am

1. Create a new vlan interface on the port facing the cisco switch. Use the "Service Tag" option when creating that vlan.
2. Create a bridge and add port x and the QinQ vlan into the bridge.
3. ???
4. Profit.
Unimus - configuration management, automation and backup solution
Mass Config Push, network-wide RouterOS upgrades, and more!
 
kellogs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:55 am

Re: QinQ dot1q tunnel?

Thu May 08, 2014 4:12 am

Hi

I have a similar situation as well

cisco 3750 <--> eth2 mikrotikA eth1 <--> eth1 mikrotikB <--> eth2 cisco 3750

I have configured service tag vlan on eth1 for both MikrotikA and MikrotikB
The can ping each other on the service tag IP address

Next I create a bridge on both mikrotik and added eth2 and service tag vlan as ports member

Eth2 is going to be connected to both Cisco and at both ends.

Do you see any problem with this setup?
 
User avatar
tomaskir
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: QinQ dot1q tunnel?

Thu May 08, 2014 12:20 pm

Hi

I have a similar situation as well

cisco 3750 <--> eth2 mikrotikA eth1 <--> eth1 mikrotikB <--> eth2 cisco 3750

I have configured service tag vlan on eth1 for both MikrotikA and MikrotikB
The can ping each other on the service tag IP address

Next I create a bridge on both mikrotik and added eth2 and service tag vlan as ports member

Eth2 is going to be connected to both Cisco and at both ends.

Do you see any problem with this setup?
Should all work. VLAN traffic from both 3750s is going to pass through the mikrotiks in a QinQ VLAN, and both 3750s will see original vlans.
Unimus - configuration management, automation and backup solution
Mass Config Push, network-wide RouterOS upgrades, and more!
 
kellogs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:55 am

Re: QinQ dot1q tunnel?

Thu May 08, 2014 11:08 pm

Dear Tomaskir,

I really hope so. Initially i created those 3750 vlans as a child vlans on Mikrotik and that failed.

Going to test is 3 hours time!

Wish me luck :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aboiles, MSN [Bot] and 215 guests