Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
sdugoten
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:55 pm

RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Wed Jun 05, 2013 9:06 am

Hi,

I am running routeros 5.21 and recently I found out I can't run the speedtest on this site. http://www.speedtest.com.hk/en/index.htm

The windows version will let you download a binary to test the speed. The Mac version is actually an app run on OSX. None of those would work when I connect thru routeros. The speed test program would just timeout. The speed test works when I directly connect without the router though.

I wonder what is the proper way to troubleshoot using logging in routeros for these type of problems? Thanks.
 
sdugoten
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:55 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:00 pm

I wonder if anyone try ? Or know how to solve this problem? Thanks.
 
sdugoten
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:55 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Thu Jun 06, 2013 8:46 pm

bump
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24791
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Fri Jun 07, 2013 4:29 pm

That MacOS app was last updated 2 years ago. I suggest you to stick with www.speedtest.net
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
sdugoten
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:55 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Sat Jun 08, 2013 1:58 pm

I think my point was that the site works on other router , the site works on direct connection without router. The app will only timeout when it is connected to a RouterOS router.

So, I am just wondering what log I can provide you so that I can troubleshoot what packet has been stopped by RouterOS. Thanks.
 
cfking
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:35 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:50 pm

I am seeing the same thing on the CCR board. I can do it with a 750 model but not the CCR. In fact it locks up the router and has to be rebooted. This happens with speed tests and with youtube video. So something in the hardware of Router OS is not right at least on the CCR with 6.2 loaded.
 
atreadwell
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Sat Jan 11, 2014 1:09 pm

we have just installed a CCR-1036-8g-2S+ Firmware v6.7 we seem to be experiencing the same issue with www.speedtest.net

youtube is very fast and appears to be working fine, the router has only been running for a couple of hours and there's been no queuing or qos setup yet. we have two internal networks (both natted).

i'm happy to provide a support dump if anyone's interested.
 
atreadwell
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Sat Jan 11, 2014 9:59 pm

Just to update... The problem went away, I think it was fixed by disabling the sip ALG. If we get a chance we'll try enabling the ALG again to be sure. Ran out of time last night..
 
sdugoten
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:55 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Mon Jan 13, 2014 4:45 pm

Just to update... The problem went away, I think it was fixed by disabling the sip ALG. If we get a chance we'll try enabling the ALG again to be sure. Ran out of time last night..
Hi, I wonder what is the exact command to disable sip ALG? Thanks.
 
atreadwell
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:46 pm

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=56265

I think you can do it via the web interface too.
 
sdugoten
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:55 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:15 pm

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=56265

I think you can do it via the web interface too.
Just FYI, http://www.speedtest.com.hk/en/index.htm still doesn't work with SIP disabled.
 
McFlyPL
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 6:18 pm
Contact:

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Wed Dec 02, 2020 6:22 pm

Hello
i have the same problem on my RBD52G, and firmaware verison 6.45.9. i disabled sip in firewall->service ports, and still speedtest.net site not working.
where can i look for the problem?
 
vetaly
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2020 7:27 am

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Wed Dec 09, 2020 8:21 am

Hello.
My Mikrotik RB750Gr3, Current Firmware: 6.47.8 I have a problem with speedtest.net not find optimal server. Finding optimal server...
 
Craig1712
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Mon Dec 14, 2020 10:02 pm

I have the exact same issue it fails on the app or website. If I take the MikroTik out it works fine.

Also WhatsApp video calls won’t connect.

Anyone have any pointers???
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5925
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Mon Dec 14, 2020 10:36 pm

Try ookla speed test works fine for me.......
whats app works for all smartphones apple and android and windows PC. no special settings.
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6655
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Mon Dec 14, 2020 10:42 pm

Anyone have any pointers???
None without seeing the configuration export. Are you saying that audio-only WhatsApp calls work fine but if you try video, it fails?
Instead of writing novels, post /export hide-sensitive. Use find&replace in your favourite text editor to systematically replace all occurrences of each public IP address potentially identifying you by a distinctive pattern such as my.public.ip.1.
 
wong2
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2021 1:48 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Thu Jan 07, 2021 8:57 am

Hi,

I am running routeros 5.21 and recently I found out I can't run the speedtest on this site. http://www.speedtest.com.hk/en/index.htm

The windows version will let you download a binary to test the speed. The Mac version is actually an gbwhatsapp app run on OSX. None of those would work when I connect thru routeros. The speed test program would just timeout. The speed test works when I directly connect without the router though.

I wonder what is the proper way to troubleshoot using logging in routeros for these type of problems? Thanks.
Hi there I have borrow this from speedtest site and I think It would be helpful for you.
This typically happens if anti-virus or firewall software on your computer is intercepting test traffic. Examples of this type of software include McAfee, Norton, and AVG. A properly configured firewall shouldn't cause issues with the test, but you can try momentarily disabling the software before a test to see if it's causing the problem. (Don't forget to enable it again afterwards.)

If that doesn't solve the issue—or it's happening for multiple computers in your network—you might also try restarting the router and modem used for your connection. They can sometimes have temporary issues that only show up when trying to upload data, and restarting them usually clears it up.
Last edited by wong2 on Sat Jan 09, 2021 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
Znevna
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:04 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Thu Jan 07, 2021 10:01 am

I think that in the last 7 years @sdugoten fixed his issue.
Good find tho'! right on time.
Are bots getting smarter?
 
sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6655
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: RouterOS 5.21 is having problem on speedtest site

Thu Jan 07, 2021 10:24 am

Are bots getting smarter?
Could be... yesterday I've seen several paragraphs of Cisco documentation chosen to deal with only vendor-independent information as a post in a wireless-related topics as the first post ever by a user. I always wonder whether this clearly means such user to prepare ground for posting spam later or whether a first time user cannot create a topic so one needs to do this to be able to ask his own question here.
Instead of writing novels, post /export hide-sensitive. Use find&replace in your favourite text editor to systematically replace all occurrences of each public IP address potentially identifying you by a distinctive pattern such as my.public.ip.1.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eworm and 182 guests