Community discussions

 
_saik0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:18 pm

Problem while creating backup

Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:54 pm

Hi all,

I've found some rather old posts concerning this issue but that was back on 3.x sw version and we're now at 5.x (6.x even).

While saving the backup (configuration) using the '/system backup save' command I end up getting:
> system backup save
Saving system configuration
Configuration backup saved
echo: backup,critical error creating backup file: could not read all configuration files
I tried resetting the configuration using '/system reset-configuration' but that doesn't seem to help.
Immediately after complete reset/reboot I try to perform the backup but the same thing happens.
Actually sometimes after reset backup works, but immediately after reenabling graphing same thing starts happening.

Anyone experienced similar issue?

RB details:
RB2011UAS-2HnD @5.24(fw 3.04)

I might update to 5.25 but according to changelog no relevant change there?

Any suggestion is welcome.

Thanks.
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:59 am

I'm subscribing to this thread. I have two or three relatively new (~3 months) SXT CPEs complaining about the same error.
Last edited by macsrwe on Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24212
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:00 pm

Such error could indicate issue with corrupted files. Upgrade will fix it.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:02 pm

WIll upgrading to the same OS level fix it? My SXTs are at 5.25, and I can't go to 6 just yet (problem with IP packing shutting off winbox, http, and SSH access).
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24212
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:03 pm

WIll upgrading to the same OS level fix it? My SXTs are at 5.25, and I can't go to 6 just yet (problem with IP packing shutting off winbox, http, and SSH access).
you should report these issues to support. if nobody knows about them, we can't fix them.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:05 pm

Hah! I was taking a supout of one of these machines when I noticed this thread. :-) I will follow through and send it in.
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:32 pm

Krisjanis responded to me:
in cases like this it is recommended to reinstall unit that shows this error
with Netinstall. Some configuration related files in RouterOS system is corrupted
and backup feature fails to pull information from them, leading to failed backup
process.
This is not happy news. I have never succeeded in using Netinstall on units with no serial ports.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24212
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:35 pm

That's correct, but did you submit these issues: IP packing shutting off winbox, http, and SSH access
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:41 pm

Ticket #2013060966000111, June 8.
 
_saik0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:18 pm

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:04 pm

Just to report on my progress regarding this issue.

I also contacted support and got the same answer as @macsrwe.

The tricky part was to actually get the RB2011 to netboot/etherboot.
After spending at least an hour I managed to reinstall using netboot.

Reapplied the configuration using the exported script and this time saving full backup seems to work.

Hoping for the best ...
 
sonnyboy
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 7:45 am

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:59 pm

I got 5.25 and have the same problem as _saik0.
Does anybody have any solution?
 
_saik0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:18 pm

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Aug 09, 2013 3:12 pm

I did a netinstall directly to 5.25
No problems afterwards.
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem while creating backup

Sat Aug 10, 2013 4:15 am

Krisjanis responded to me:
in cases like this it is recommended to reinstall unit that shows this error
with Netinstall. Some configuration related files in RouterOS system is corrupted
and backup feature fails to pull information from them, leading to failed backup
process.
This is not happy news. I have never succeeded in using Netinstall on units with no serial ports.
I can now testify that I have pulled a completely non-communicative SXT (due to a lightning storm) back into the land of the living with a netinstall. Thank you, MikroTik, for making the pushbutton capable of triggering a netinstall as well as the contact pad, because getting a reliable short across that contact pad is dang near impossible.
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem while creating backup

Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:03 am

I can say for a fact

1) upgrading does not fix this problem

2) this is a very general problem. About 30% of the SXTs and 711s I have installed in the past six months are showing this error for every backup request. They are CPEs, and I cannot recall them all to netinstall them. The corruption was not there when they were initially installed.
 
Dron
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:41 pm

Today I encountered the same problem on RB2011UAS, v 5.24.
Any voltage drops was not, the router works through line-interactive ups.
In what the reason of such failure is not clear...

netinstall - the only solution?
 
reddflash
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:33 pm

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:10 pm

Hi,

as I also have the same issue on more and more RB951G-2HnD, my big question is: After upgrading with netinstall, does it fix the issue, so that corrupt files never happens again?
For me it seems, that starting with a fresh new device it is working several weeks or months, and then it suddenly starts having this issues. For me it's a big problem, because as a side effect I'm also losing some parts of the configuration itself (user passwords, wifi security seetings, and also less critical things...)
Does anyone also see this behaviour in losing some parts of configuration?
I think it's not an option to netinstall every few months for getting back the backup feature again and maintain the configuration.
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem while creating backup

Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:19 pm

Previously I wrote that upgrading did not fix the problem, and it was true when I wrote it. But apparently the versions available for upgrade at this time appear to fix this problem. I have not encountered this error in the past couple months, and all of the devices on my network are running 6.6 and 6.7. All of them are now reliably generating weekly backups and mailing them in.
 
jrees5625
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:26 pm

Re: Problem while creating backup

Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:17 am

~bump. I just upgraded a RB493G from 5.26 to 6.10 and started getting this error. Backups were working fine on 5.26, and the upgrade itself went smoothly from 5.26 to 6.10. I didn't lose configurations and the router started working. But when I try to backup at 6.10, I get the error "backup, critical: error creating backup file: could not read all configuration files." I'm running with the most up to date firmware. I've seen a several posts on this problem, but no causes or solutions (besides net install...) Thanks for your help!
 
dld2517
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:01 pm

Re: Problem while creating backup

Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:04 am

I know this thread is pretty old, however I have been having this issue. Upgraded an RB493G from 5.22 to 6.33.3 on 3/23/16 and all backups since then have failed with the error:

backup,critical error creating backup file: could not read all configuration files


If I backup from winbox using the file dialog, I will actually get a file but it is very small. 179 kb

Any information?
 
Wyz4k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:23 am

Re: Problem while creating backup

Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:42 am

I'm getting this error in ROS 6.38.5 on RB751U-2HnD when I try to create an unencrypted backup. I upgraded to the release candidate 6.39rc72 as that appears to have solved a lot of the issues here and I'm still getting the error. I ran a check installation which reported that installation is ok. I have upload the supout.rif. The RB is working seemingly fine otherwise.
 
User avatar
dynek
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:03 pm

Re: Problem while creating backup

Thu Apr 19, 2018 2:59 pm

Undigging an old thread, sorry for that.

On a RB1100AHx2 that never had any problem I started seeing "error creating backup file: could not read all configuration file" while creating a backup.
No clue if it's related or not but I recently updated to 6.42 and I never saw this message before.
Also messages are sent to a syslog server writing them on disk and I just checked for that message, it started appearing after 6.42 update.

Hopefully I won't have to netinstall.

Thank you
 
ninjavz
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:46 am

Re: Problem while creating backup

Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:53 am

Old problem appearing again.
I just upgraded to 6.42.1 on a RB450G and got the same error when system backup save:
backup,critical error creating backup file: could not read all configuration files
However before the upgrade I also did the backup and it worked.
Another change after the upgrade was ip ssh set strong-crypto=yes (FYI)

Already wrote to support and awaiting further instructions... any ideas?
 
User avatar
dynek
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:03 pm

Re: Problem while creating backup

Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:34 pm

They asked if /export seemed to be complete (it does), then supout.rif and they could not reproduce the issue with it.
So now I am supposed to move the device out of its rack to netinstall it, I feel like it would be done before a couple of weeks, not so easy! :-/
 
Michel
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:50 pm

Re: Problem while creating backup

Sat Jun 16, 2018 9:11 pm

See also viewtopic.php?f=2&t=133621

/ip ssh regenerate-host-key

solved the problem.
 
User avatar
dynek
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:03 pm

Re: Problem while creating backup

Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:31 am

Fixed it for my RB1100AHx2 as well. A shame for Mikrotik who suggested to NetInstall the device.

Thank you!
 
User avatar
ognjen
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:31 am
Location: Serbia

Re: Problem while creating backup

Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:03 am

This is resolve my problem! Ty!
/ip ssh regenerate-host-key
Be careful with MikroTik Firewall because you can cut the line [yourself - MikroTik] :shock:
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 91 guests