Community discussions

 
Estiaan
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:15 am

10 Wan Ports

Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:05 am

We have an OSPF Network, where I use an RB1100AH as my edge router

At the office we have 8 WAN ADSL Lines, and 2 LAN POrts for different sides of the network.

Just an question, if our network grows at the current rate, we will need to add more DSL lines to our network, and our RB1100AH only has 12 POrts, What can we then do to add more lines to the network?
 
User avatar
tomaskir
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1110
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: 10 Wan Ports

Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:07 am

Use VLANs.
Unimus - configuration management, automation and backup solution
Mass Config Push, network-wide RouterOS upgrades, and more!
 
markom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:42 pm

Re: 10 Wan Ports

Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:11 am

Make contact with some ISP and buy fiber optic. How can you put yourself in position to have such amount of ADSL links for your business? Then in that situation all You need is router with 2 interfaces and one good L3 switch.
 
Estiaan
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:15 am

Re: 10 Wan Ports

Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:29 am

Where I live in South africa, there is no Fibre in an 600km Radius. I use mangle to mark different clients with different routing marks.

If I use Vlans how would I go about setting that up?

Is there a way to connect a secont RB1100AH to add more ports?
 
rjickity
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:40 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: 10 Wan Ports

Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm

On the switch connect each adsl service to an access port each on their own vlan. Then Vlan trunk from switch to router.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
 
Estiaan
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:15 am

Re: 10 Wan Ports

Wed Jun 26, 2013 4:35 pm

So I put a normal 8 port switch between my routerboard that handles the PPPOE connection and the pysical adsl modem?

Then I setup an Vlan between the Routerboard and the adsl, each with their on VLAN TAG?
 
rjickity
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:40 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: 10 Wan Ports

Thu Jul 04, 2013 2:45 pm

spot on.

example.

switch:
port1 - vlan 101 - mode access/untagged
port2 - vlan 102 - mode access/untagged
port3 - vlan 103 - mode access/untagged
port4 - vlan 104 - mode access/untagged
port5 - vlan 105 - mode access/untagged
port6 - vlan 106 - mode access/untagged
port7 - vlan 107 - mode access/untagged
port8 - vlan all - mode trunk/tagged

connect port8 to mikrotik ether1 and the others to you adsl services.

mikrotik:
/interface vlan
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1516 name=vlan101 vlan-id=101
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1516 name=vlan102 vlan-id=102
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1516 name=vlan103 vlan-id=103
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1516 name=vlan104 vlan-id=104
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1516 name=vlan105 vlan-id=105
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1516 name=vlan106 vlan-id=106
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1516 name=vlan107 vlan-id=107
then create the pppoe-client on the vlan interfaces for your adsl.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 81 guests