Community discussions

 
seasonlau
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:49 pm

How do I use the 2nd port on my board? (with 1 chipset)

Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:54 pm

Hi, I have a motherboard that comes with 2 Ethernet ports. However, I found I have only 1 Ethernet Chipset. I am not sure if the 2nd port can be used for something.

Here is the chipset: RTL-8110SC/8169SC Gigabit Ethernet (rev: 16)

In Interface page of Winbox, there is only one Ethernet Interface. How do it activate the 2nd one?

rgs.
 
User avatar
ohara
Member
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:30 pm
Location: Warsaw

Re: How do I use the 2nd port on my board? (with 1 chipset)

Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:58 pm

what type of motherboard? model and manufacturer?
 
seasonlau
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:49 pm

Re: How do I use the 2nd port on my board? (with 1 chipset)

Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:04 pm

what type of motherboard? model and manufacturer?
I am not posting the model because the board is customized.

The manufacturer is Centerm. It was a motherboard that came from a Thin Client D9116.
 
User avatar
ohara
Member
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:30 pm
Location: Warsaw

Re: How do I use the 2nd port on my board? (with 1 chipset)

Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:22 pm

maybe you can check if both ports are enabled in bios
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How do I use the 2nd port on my board? (with 1 chipset)

Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:45 pm

Does a normal linux livecd show both ethernet ports?
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 80 guests