Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
pmj
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:18 pm
Location: Kolind, Denmark

Feature wish - logical interface

Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:50 pm

I would like to be able to change network adapter without having to
reconfigure IP address, routes, firewall roules etc.

This can be accomplished by adding an extra abstraction layer, a logical interface. The logical interface is bound to a physical, and the logical interface is used

In fact this is possible right now, just only for VLAN interfaces. Here I can change the interface.

This feature comes handy when someone interchanges two ethernet cables on a remote router or when a NIC breaks down and I have to make a quick fix.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:03 am

I would love this ... many times i've wanted to swap hardware but don't because it would mean fixing to many disconnected rules.

Sam
 
User avatar
mag
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Contact:

Mon Mar 20, 2006 8:38 am

it is partly possible by using bridges. i don't know how this affects performance, though.

on the other hand, i consider this behavior perfectly normal for a router...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 87 guests