Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
natanielklug
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:09 pm
Location: Cascavel/PR/Brasil

Problems running PPPoE Server in v6.1

Thu Jul 04, 2013 2:21 pm

Hello all,

I've sent a lot of messages about the PPPoE problem when Mikrotik RoS is running as a NAS. The problem was reported in this post:

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=72044

After the stable connection we made and update over our NAS servers and we have 3 of them:

RB1100AH - CSC-auth-06
RB1100AHx2 - CSC-auth-08
RB1100AHx2 - CSC-auth-09

In all of those we got some PPPoE estabilished sessions but not running and, for that, our customer can't have a connection because our OSPF, which is ment to share the IP over the network, do not share the IPs put on this "not running" connections.

To be better understod I am attaching a screen:

Image

Can anyone help me with that? I am returning all the NASes to 6.0rc14 to see what happens.
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 634
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Problems running PPPoE Server in v6.1

Thu Jul 04, 2013 6:29 pm

I had same problem on 6.1 . here is official reply from mikrotik guys .
Hello,

Routing is crashing. We will fix this in future versions, but currently try not to
run OSPF on ppp interfaces, it might help.

Regards,
Maris
try this and report back http://mikrotik.com/download/share/rout ... 6.2rc1.npk
MTCNA , MTCRE, MTCWE, Mikrotik Certified Trainer
 
User avatar
natanielklug
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:09 pm
Location: Cascavel/PR/Brasil

Re: Problems running PPPoE Server in v6.1

Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:04 pm

Thank you Omid. I will try this 6.2rc1.
 
User avatar
Max416
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:03 pm

Re: Problems running PPPoE Server in v6.1

Wed Aug 21, 2013 2:26 pm

Hi there guys,
i'm experiencing the same problem on 3 CC36 with RoS 6.2 installed.
Any news about this issue?

Thank you all in advance! :D
 
User avatar
natanielklug
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:09 pm
Location: Cascavel/PR/Brasil

Re: Problems running PPPoE Server in v6.1

Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:53 pm

Hi there guys,
i'm experiencing the same problem on 3 CC36 with RoS 6.2 installed.
Any news about this issue?

Thank you all in advance! :D
Hello Max,

Can you enlight us with more information? How many PPPoE Sessions you can achieve before "Running No" became? Is there an ammount of traffic that you see it more closely?
---
Best regards,

José Nataniel Centeno Klug
Operation Manager Certto Telecom
+55 45 3333 2135 | www.certto.com.br
Image
 
User avatar
Max416
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:03 pm

Re: Problems running PPPoE Server in v6.1

Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:12 am

Hi Nataniel,
thanks for your answer.
I have about 600 PPPoE sessions for each CC36.

After rebooting one of them i saw i got "not running" sessions after about 300 active sessions.

I tried to manually delete those sessions but in a matter of seconds they came back (not necessarily with the same name). I reached a maximum of 16 not running sessions at the same time.
I was forced to write down a script to automatically delete them but i don't think it's a great solution.
 
Numenori
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Problems running PPPoE Server in v6.1

Fri Aug 23, 2013 9:04 am

Still the same problem on our 3 x CCR1036 (OSPF + PPPOE over radius only) RouterOS 6.2, fw:3.09.

I already reported MT supports about this problem again and they only said: "Thank you very much for the report. We will research your issue."

Next week or few days later we try to change our OSPF network type from ptp to ptmp, it is only intuition, i don't know how it may help us.
 
User avatar
Max416
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:03 pm

Re: Problems running PPPoE Server in v6.1

Sun Sep 01, 2013 11:22 pm

Hi there...any news?
Hope at least this will be fixed in 6.3! :)
 
User avatar
Max416
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:03 pm

Re: Problems running PPPoE Server in v6.1

Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:41 am

Ehi guys...just tried to install 6.3 and it seems to work fine! Not-running pppoe clients don't even show up and the authentication process of the pppoe sessions is faster.
Finally! :D
 
Numenori
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Problems running PPPoE Server in v6.1

Wed Sep 04, 2013 12:52 pm

I think we must wait one or two weeks of uptime before rejoice.
Invalid IP's don't appear immediately after reboot.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], kimoo and 51 guests