Page 1 of 1

Best Practice for LACP with CloudCore

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:41 pm
by dison4linux
I'm going to be using a CCR1036 as a router that will be connected to a 24 port Cisco GbE core switch. From the core switch there will be a 2x1Gb LACP configuration going to each of the 5 distribution switches. My question is what would be considered a best practice for the LACP configuration between the core switch and the router. I believe the switch is capable of bonding at least 4 interfaces together and I believe the router is too, but at what point does the overhead outweigh the benefit? Certainly I don't need 8 interfaces in the LACP group, but I'd like more than 1, so I guess that leaves 2 or 4... Thoughts?

Re: Best Practice for LACP with CloudCore

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:44 pm
by tomaskir
There really isnt any overhead on LACP, it just specifies how the frames should be divided across the ports, and then a single LACPDU packet per port every second.

Trunk as many as you need according to your bandwidth.

Re: Best Practice for LACP with CloudCore

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:52 pm
by dison4linux
I remember I thought I'd be cute and setup LACP on two ports on an RB751U... the CPU went to 100% at around 30Mbps... once I removed the LACP config I was able to get up to the wire speed 100Mbps.

Re: Best Practice for LACP with CloudCore

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:55 pm
by tomaskir
I remember I thought I'd be cute and setup LACP on two ports on an RB751U... the CPU went to 100% at around 30Mbps... once I removed the LACP config I was able to get up to the wire speed 100Mbps.
There were a few bugs with LACP and CPU usage back in the day, yes.

These should now be solved, if you see high CPU usage with LACP, definatelly report that to support.