Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
DarkMind
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:10 pm

2GB limit

Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:18 pm

Hello,
I'm trying to upload a single file with over 2GB file size via FTP to MT. It starts to upload but when reaches 2GB the router disconnects me. I have more than 10GB free space. MT version is 2.9.18. What is the problem.
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:16 pm

Why the heck would you want to upload such a large file TO a router (!) ??? :shock:

Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
DarkMind
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:10 pm

Fri Mar 24, 2006 5:16 pm

I'm using routerOS installed on a computer for the internet. That computer is working 24/7 and it is the best place to add a HDD for files. MT supports FTP and I want to use it. 2GB is not such a large file. If it was 20GB and above you can say a large file.
 
User avatar
mag
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Contact:

Fri Mar 24, 2006 6:12 pm

Why the heck would you want to upload such a large file TO a router (!) ??? :shock:
Probably the Coffee Machine Control Software ;-)

(no, i don't want to know actually)
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Fri Mar 24, 2006 7:23 pm

I'm guessing the file system used in MT has a limit of 2gb ... most machines up until a few years ago had this limitation. Some are 4gb limits still.

Sam
 
DarkMind
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:10 pm

Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:42 pm

I read some websites and the problem with the limit comes from the Kernel. MT's kernel just don't support big files. Maybe it is not compiled with the new options. I don't know. That's why I'm asking.
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:30 am

Filesystem or kernel limits come to mind as the culprits, yes.

But you will have to ask MikroTik directly to get any confirmation on this: support@mikrotik.com.

Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24422
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:50 am

yes it does have some limits on file size. maybe this will change in 2.10. actually RouterOS is not meant as a file server, so this is not exacly a bug, more an inconvenience

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GiedriusK, McSee and 128 guests