Page 1 of 1

ROS 6.1 PPPOE Route Problem!

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 10:50 am
by mohsen1981
Today I had some customer calls complaining "no internet access".
After logging into winbox I discovered there are some ppp connections that don't have a corresponding route in route list! actually the number of items in route list should always be >= ppp connections. but in my router it is not so.
screenshot attached

Re: ROS 6.1 PPPOE Route Problem!

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 2:44 pm
by natanielklug
Hello,

My friend this is a problem in version 6 of RouterOS. I first found this on RoS 6.0rc4. The problem is that for OSPF/BGP to redistribute a new route for a PPPoE tunnel it needs the PPPoE tunnel to be "Running":

Image
Uploaded with ImageShack.us

See as we have some connections Running and some not? Those are more expressive with high CPU load on RB1100 or RB1100AHx2. For RB1100 we got a maximum of 350 PPPoE sessions without the problem. For RB1100AHx2 about 600 sessions and for the new CCR1016 it was about 1500 sessions.

Hope to had your problem enlightened.

Regards,

Nataniel Klug
Certto - Cascavel/PR/Brazil

Re: ROS 6.1 PPPOE Route Problem!

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:57 pm
by mohsen1981
thanks for attention
Does this problem exist in ROS 5.x?
BTW my platform is RB1100AHx2 and ppp connections has not reached 600 yet.it is now about 450
Hope mikrotik do something soon...

Re: ROS 6.1 PPPOE Route Problem!

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:40 pm
by natanielklug
thanks for attention
Does this problem exist in ROS 5.x?
I never saw this on RoS v4 or v5. The problem in those version is that you use a high amount of your CPU for the firewall rules - every single PPPoE Session creates a 2 new entries into your firewall to change TCP MSS. In version 6 all sessions got just 1 rule (it can be the problem in version 6, but I can't stick to this explanation).
BTW my platform is RB1100AHx2 and ppp connections has not reached 600 yet.it is now about 450
Hope mikrotik do something soon...
I see it's not only the number of connections that matter. It's also related to CPU usage. For example a in a server with 200 sessions and 20 of them consuming 10 Mbps of bandwidth I think the problem would be exactly the same... But I am not producing this kind of scenario so, I can't say this is true. For now I am going into a measure of how many sessions I got before the problem appears.

I've been sending message to the forum since the begining of the problem but no lucky. The best version until now it 6.0rc14.

Regards,

Nataniel Klug
Certto - Cascavel / PR / Brazil

Re: ROS 6.1 PPPOE Route Problem!

Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:47 pm
by gabirc87
I´m having a similar problem. (http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=77642)

This issue, also happens using v5 on a RB1100 AHx2. In a few days I´ll be installing a CCR1036 to replace my current VPN Server, I hope to solve my problem with this replacement.

TIP: the CPU usage stays always between 50 and 100%.

Re: ROS 6.1 PPPOE Route Problem!

Posted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:54 am
by natanielklug
Hello all,

As I was told by Mikrotik Support this issue was addressed in RoS v6.5. On my stress test over a CCR1016-12G I was able to open 1500 PPPoE Sessions without trouble. As I was testing this new version I made a more stressful test and I send almost 3000 PPPoE Sessions. My CCR crashed on 2400+ sessions... And there were more "Running = No" interfaces. CPU usage on CCR was something between 40~50%. I already told Mikrotik Support about this.

I am really confident that Mikrotik Support will find a way to solve this issue and, with that, make a better Mikrotik RoS.

Re: ROS 6.1 PPPOE Route Problem!

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:09 pm
by gabirc87
Hi,

After I replace my MK for a CCR1036 with v6.6, my problem of routes loading was resolved. It was all about CPU Load.

Thanks.