Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
mauricioisp
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:48 am

best way to limit local and international traffic?

Sun Sep 08, 2013 10:02 pm

Hi guys,
I've been offering same bandwidth for local and international traffic, but it has not been very cost effective, cause international bandwidth is 20x more expensive than national traffic. For that reason I would like to set different limits for international and local traffic. I've been thinking of two possible ways to do that:
- use address lists and simple queue
- use two different edge routers, one for local traffic and the second one for international and use different vlans to access each one.

Any suggestion?
 
User avatar
pcunite
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1070
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:13 am
Location: USA

Re: best way to limit local and international traffic?

Sun Sep 08, 2013 11:46 pm

As long as the traffic volume is not too much to overload a single router, why not separate traffic by physical port? This would simplify marking rules. Then put them into a Queue Tree to rate limit them.
 
mauricioisp
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:48 am

Re: best way to limit local and international traffic?

Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:33 pm

Hi pcnuite,
Thank you for your reply, the thing is I want to do that in our edge router, then we've 10 smaller routers and all our CPEs are in router mode...
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1827
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: best way to limit local and international traffic?

Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:32 pm

When the new routing is released you will be able to do this.

It will allow you to add prefixes to an address list with a filter, you can then mark packets based on the address list.

So you would add communities to domestic vs international routes then create address lists from these using filters. This would work on all routers on your network as long as they receive the communities.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
mauricioisp
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:48 am

Re: best way to limit local and international traffic?

Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:46 am

hi nz_monkey,
do you know if this new routing will be released in RouterOS 6.4?

Thanks,
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1827
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: best way to limit local and international traffic?

Wed Sep 11, 2013 9:23 am

Unfortunately I have no idea when this will be available.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24422
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: best way to limit local and international traffic?

Wed Sep 11, 2013 9:28 am

It will not be in v6.4, most likely in v7
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
mauricioisp
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:48 am

Re: best way to limit local and international traffic?

Wed Sep 11, 2013 6:06 pm

Hi normis,
I understand. And what method do you recommend for the being time to set different bandwidth limits for domestic and international traffic?

Thanks,
 
mauricioisp
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:48 am

Re: best way to limit local and international traffic?

Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:43 pm

Hi,
I've more information on this topic...here's the situation, our competitor offers monitoring services of the client bandwidth (domestic and international bandwidth), I suspect that the only way to do that is to use 2 VLANs, one for international and the other for national bandwidth, right?

Image

Any suggestion?
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1827
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: best way to limit local and international traffic?

Tue Sep 17, 2013 5:29 am

Use netflow to pfacct machine is what I would do for accounting.

I thought you were wanting queuing
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
deejayq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:33 am

Re: best way to limit local and international traffic?

Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:56 pm

if your ISP gives you bgp you can mark the "national" routes and then mark packets based on those routes, and then the "international" traffic would be what's left after the "national" has been marked.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], lamclennan, MSN [Bot], PwFactor and 102 guests